carbon copy cloner or superduper?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Luis Ortega, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    Which is better?
    I use superduper and it works fine but I always see articles about bootable clones seem to mention carbon copy cloner instead.
     
  2. ohanian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #2
    They are both more or less the SAME

    Just pick one which you are comfortable with.

    Stop worrying about it.
     
  3. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #3
    I think the difference is CCC is free where as Superduper cost a small fee
     
  4. Genl. Ludd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #4
    You might want both

    Hi: If you are one of those old timers that try to use your older cloned OS on an older Power PC (like the Beige G3) you will need the Carbon Cloner's blessing option or you will see the black apple forever.
     
  5. Paulywauly macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    Try carbon copy cloner first as it's free, why spend money if you don't need too? :D

    Never used super duper but I clone my boot drive every day with carbon copy cloner, works great :)
     
  6. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #6
    As has been said, the both do the same job. Before I bought my new iMac and went over to Time Machine, I always used Superduper to make a regular bootable backup.
     
  7. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    I'm just using CCC for the first time, and I'm wondering..

    Just backed up my HD to an External HD using CCC. I selected the option to back up every time I connect my external. Now, the next time I connect it, will it back up my ENTIRE HD again, or will it recognize the changes I've made to my HD since my last backup, and simply make the necessary adjustments (erase deleted files, add new files)?

    Also, I had already made a backup using the WD Software that came with my External (WD My Passport Studio - 600 GB). I then went ahead and performed a CCC on top of that. If/When I have to boot from my External (or when I transfer it to a new HD if I ever need or get one), will it create duplicates of all of my files, or will it recognize that most of the files are the same..Should I delete all the info on my External and just start fresh with a new CCC?

    Sorry for how long this is..
     
  8. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
    Using CCC's Incremental Backup when setting a schedule scheme. I did it this way on mine after I first made a full clone. I have backup every Saturday at 1200 and it works as long as my Mac is on or sleeping.
     
  9. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    So after my initial clone, I should set the preference to: "Incremental Backup of Selected Items" ?? Does this mean that every time I backup after that, it will only deal with newly deleted/added files?

    If I leave it set to backup everything, will it re-clone everything every time?
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    I prefer CCC, but that's it. My preference. They both perform greatly and you pick the one you like the most.
     
  11. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    As far as I've seen, it will re-clone everything if you leave it set to Backup Everything.

    Switch it to Incremental Backup of Selected Items, then select them all, and it will only change, backup, and delete what has changed since the last backup.
     
  12. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  13. Hans Brix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #13
    No experience with SupreDuper, but I've used CCC with success.
     
  14. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #14
    I settled on SuperDuper! years ago because there was a bug with CCC at the time which occasionally resulted in lost hard drive space.
     

Share This Page