Carbon Copy Cloner Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jaybar, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. jaybar macrumors 6502

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I am a new CCC user with questions.

    1) Is there anything in the settings that will close the application after it finishes cloning?

    This is easily done in SuperDuper, but I can't see where in CCC.

    2) The scheduler in CCC, creates an "untitled" event. Can I give the event a name? if so, how can that be done?

    Thanks

    Jay
     
  2. onekerato macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #2
    (1) You could use an Applescript to quit CCC, set it up in the before & after tab for a scheduled task.

    (2) Click again on the scheduled task name and it should become editable.
     
  3. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #3
    Under the settings tab of the scheduled task, you can uncheck "display a progress window" and "display a task finished window". I think that doesn't display anything when it runs (I'm not 100% sure though because I only very recently updated to the new pay version). You should probably set up the "errors only" email notification though.
     
  4. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I've been using the paid version since the beginning. I have a few clones that occur between 3am - 5am when I am sleeping. I have it set up that I would never see anything unless there was an error.

    The lack of error messages is my only indication that it runs.

    /Jim
     
  5. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #5
    If you're really curious, there should be a CCC.log in /Library/Logs, with detailed info on the scheduled jobs.
     
  6. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Yes, you are correct. What I was trying to say is that I have it set up... it runs when I am sleeping... it does not bother me at all... and if there is an error, then I am alerted. In other words, it works perfectly for me.

    /Jim
     

Share This Page