Carbon Copy Cloner vs Disk Utility...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Synergie, May 6, 2015.

  1. Synergie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    #1
    My hard drive cable crapped out... mid 2012 13" MBP. I initially thought it was the hard drive so I picked up the AMD Radeon 480 Gb SSD. Installed it, and still didn't work. So I got a new cable today and installed it myself... mighty proud of myself too since those two little screws holding the ribbon in place under the HDD bracket are a PAIN to get back in the holes!!! LOL. But the change out was quite easy and was less than 15 min. Now my MBP sees the new SSD.

    I was told Disk Utility could clone the old hard drive (which I am running the MBP off of right now via USB in an external dock). But I couldn't figure out how.... so after fiddling for a few mins I went back to my old go-to... Carbon Copy Cloner.

    Should I have any issues cloning from a 500 Gb Seagate Hybrid drive (Momentus XT) to the 480 Gb Radeon SSD? I was only using about 180 Gb of the 500... so no chance of running out of room.

    It's already started the copy, and appears to be going just fine, but should it finish and be bootable as if it was the original drive with all my files still intact? (only much faster obviously being SSD).

    p.s. - I'm a girl ;) for those on here who said in previous posts to just have Apple store change it out, don't pay them the ridiculous labour cost (unless its being done under Apple Care.. mine ran out). There's actually not much to a Macbook Pro inside. This job is 15 min tops even if you have never done it, you can reverse engineer it without even looking up the instructions online. Just remember, to clean off the old adhesive from the part of the strip that goes to the bracket holding the IR and LED so you will have a nice fit and snug to the case with the new one. and ALWAYS disconnect the battery cable from the logic board before you do anything that requires unplugging or plugging things from the logic board!!!
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    You shouldn't have any problem using CCC with the new drive, even with the old backup. If you are concerned, make sure everything that you care about is on your Mac, wipe the backup drive, and then do a fresh backup.
     
  3. Synergie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    #3
    I'm not using a backup... I'm cloning the entire old drive as is. I just took the old one out, put it in an external dock through USB and booted from that old drive. Loaded carbon copy cloner and selected source as the old drive, destination as the new drive and copy entire drive. CCC is easy to use. I couldn't figure out if Disk Utility does that... it obviously allows restores... but this is literally a straight clone copy. Thats why I was concerned maybe about the drive size differences being an issue but it didn't say anything so I assume its ok.
     
  4. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #4
    I had two experiences (Macbook and MacMini) moving my OSX installation to a SSD. CCC did the trick, but it's worth doing a Verify and a Repair Permissions on Disk Utility after migrating.
     
  5. Synergie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    #5
    Carbon Copy Cloner did an excellent job, and cloned close to 200 Gb in under 2 hours! If I had done a restore instead using Disk Utility, it would have taken a LOT longer!

    Then I simply shut down, unplugged the old HDD (which was running the system via USB) and rebooted on the internal brand new SSD and not a single issue! Blazing fast start up too! Under 10 seconds into 10.10. Then I finally was able to update to 10.10.3 (I had been having issues with it hanging... I guess it was the cable causing the issues). So it cleared my update problems too!

    As a side note, I thought Carbon Copy Cloner was a free app at one time? I don't rememer having to buy it before, but this new version I just downloaded (you have 30 day trial) but it's now 59.99 USD to buy! But I guess if it backs up THAT quickly and easily, I might pay for it, axe the Time Capsule backups on Time Machine which seem to keep corrupting and they take a long time intially. I might just get an external usb hdd like Passport and save the clone on there, then my backup is also fully bootable, avoiding the need for Time Machine restores alltogether.
     

Share This Page