carbon copy cloner

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rweakins, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. rweakins macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #1
    i am getting a new computer. can i use carbon copy cloner to completely clone my current computer and open that on the new computer and have all my apps and everything transferred? if so how is that done?
     
  2. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    If you are getting a new system then just clone the current drive with CCC and then use the migration assistant with your new machine.

    Cloning is easy, open CCC, choose your source drive, choose you destination drive, click clone, enter system password and walk away.
     
  3. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #3
    so through migration assistant just move the back up file to the new system?
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    If you can, you can just start one Mac up in FireWire target disk mode (hold down T while booting up) and connect a FireWire cable from the new one the the old one when it asks for you to do so... it's much easier than cloning I find.
     
  5. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #5
    will all my apps and preferences be transferred doing this process?
     
  6. agentphish macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #6
    Should be.

    My boss at my old job had an issue with a used powerbook he bought when he tried to migrate all his stuff from his G5 desktop though, just thought i'd throw that out there.

    In general it works without a hitch though.
     

Share This Page