Cards update requires iOS 6...

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Italianblend, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. Italianblend macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #1
    I'm running iOS 5 and my App Store has a notification to update cards. But the update requires iOS 6. This means that the notification will always be there until I update to 6. This is pretty silly, apple. If I'm not eligible for the update then why put it there?
     
  2. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  3. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #3
    "If I'm not eligable..."

    Meaning he can't. His device doesn't support iOS6.
     
  4. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    no, he said not eligible for the app update, because he has iOS5.
    didn't say they weren't eligible to update to iOS6 (confounded by him saying "until i upgrade to iOS6).
     
  5. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #5
    Okay, sorry. I'm really not thinking straight tonight.

    This does however create a problem for those of us who are unable to update our devices.
     
  6. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    isn't it the case though that every device that could run iOS5 can upgrade to iOS6?
     
  7. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #7
    The first iPad can run iOS5 but not iOS6. Don't know if the update would show up on there or not though.
     
  8. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #8
    No. Neither the first gen iPad nor third gen iPod touch can be upgraded to iOS 6.
     
  9. Italianblend thread starter macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #9
    Sorry, I can upgrade but I don't want to because I want to keep the maps app the way it is. You shouldn't be forced to upgrade...agree? Disagree?
     
  10. Aspasia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
    #10
    LOL, I have seven app upgrade notices and one in settings for the iOS. Holding off for now because I'm in a very rural area. Google maps places my street address about a mile away from my actual location, so am hesitant to find out what Maps would do.

    The apps still all run fine, so there's nothing forcing me to upgrade right now.
     

Share This Page