Career change: Becoming a Mac software programmer

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by LikeThisIdea, May 14, 2010.

1. LikeThisIdea macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm currently changing careers, and I would like to asset the possibility to become a Mac software programmer. (Maybe the terminology's not right, sorry about that, and don't hesitate to correct me).

I'm ready to take on long study degree, travel if necessary... I started studying Objective-C on my own and I love it. But I can't seem to find anywhere to study it thoroughly (I live in Montreal, Quebec, Canada).

Does anybody know where can I start looking? Any lead on that?

Thank you in advance, your help is much appreciated.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

For the most part they don't teach this in school. You'll need to buy some books and teach yourself.

I recommend Objective C and Cocoa programming

Joining apple's developer program will give you access to a lot of development resources.

3. GorillaPaws macrumors 6502a

GorillaPaws

You also might want to take a look at the classes offered by the Big Nerd Ranch. They're on the pricey side, but I learned a ton from them, and would highly recommend it to those with the time and the budget for it. Also, the more you know going into it, the more you'll likely get out since the courses move quickly.

Are you coming from a programming/software background?

4. Winni macrumors 68030

Winni

So you're starting a career as an independent, self-employed software developer - or Indie, as it's usually called. I hope that you are aware of that, because otherwise you're in for a very bad surprise - there is no job market for Objective-C programmers. Either you will be able to develop a product that people will want to buy, or you will be basically jobless without an income.