Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

bonotis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2006
13
0
Tried a restart: no luck
Tried Reset Network Settings: no luck

Any good ideas ?
 

GreyOS

macrumors 68040
Apr 12, 2012
3,340
1,664

Attachments

  • 79F3FC5C-79E1-4A12-862D-170F5BB31BE9.jpeg
    79F3FC5C-79E1-4A12-862D-170F5BB31BE9.jpeg
    135.6 KB · Views: 1,405
  • Like
Reactions: bonotis

Banglazed

macrumors demi-god
Apr 17, 2017
3,961
5,159
Cupertino, CA
This is what they mean (iOS 11)

Oh! This used to show if you restored the iPhone but eventually it disappears. Normally, that Carrier setting is set to automatic depending on the SIM card.

It is renamed to “Cellular Network” instead of Carrier under Cellular setting.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HDtrober

bonotis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2006
13
0
Oh! This used to show if you restored the iPhone but eventually it disappears. Normally, that Carrier setting is set to automatic depending on the SIM card.

It is renamed to “Cellular Network” instead of Carrier under Cellular setting.

It is not supposed to disappear, because it allows the user to switch cellular networks when roaming.
 

Banglazed

macrumors demi-god
Apr 17, 2017
3,961
5,159
Cupertino, CA
Exactly.
Here’s a screenshot:
c1177880681ba72a660dce9d70c7d63e.png

It’s a change in iOS 12. This is my X on iOS 12. It is now under Cellular settings and renamed as Cellular Network which is what I’m telling you. In your case, it might be under Mobile Data setting. Have you check it?
 

Attachments

  • D1360E83-3BCC-46AF-956F-E93AE42D1DD7.png
    D1360E83-3BCC-46AF-956F-E93AE42D1DD7.png
    308.3 KB · Views: 1,833
  • C22B65C8-CE21-45C5-9EF0-063107DDBBA8.png
    C22B65C8-CE21-45C5-9EF0-063107DDBBA8.png
    356.7 KB · Views: 1,713
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: bonotis

bonotis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2006
13
0
It’s a change in iOS 12. This is my X on iOS 12. It is now under Cellular settings and renamed as Cellular Network which is what I’m telling you. In your case, it might be under Mobile Data setting. Have you check it?

Excellent, thank you !
 

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
51,388
19,449
It’s a change in iOS 12. This is my X on iOS 12. It is now under Cellular settings and renamed as Cellular Network which is what I’m telling you. In your case, it might be under Mobile Data setting. Have you check it?
I have essentially that in iOS 11 (and had that in iOS 10 and before).

Seems like something like that might be more dependent on something like carrier settings.
 

Banglazed

macrumors demi-god
Apr 17, 2017
3,961
5,159
Cupertino, CA
I have essentially that in iOS 11 (and had that in iOS 10 and before).

Seems like something like that might be more dependent on something like carrier settings.

I noticed that too. For T-Mobile, I only see Carrier setting only if I restore my device. Then, it would disappear forever even on iOS 11. I’ve never seen Mobile Data setting either in iOS for a long time too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bonotis

Broken Hope

macrumors 65816
Jan 15, 2015
1,279
1,030
I noticed that too. For T-Mobile, I only see Carrier setting only if I restore my device. Then, it would disappear forever even on iOS 11. I’ve never seen Mobile Data setting either in iOS for a long time too.

It’s language dependent, change your language to English UK and Cellular will be called Mobile Data.
 

Yaely

macrumors newbie
Sep 14, 2016
14
2
It’s a change in iOS 12. This is my X on iOS 12. It is now under Cellular settings and renamed as Cellular Network which is what I’m telling you. In your case, it might be under Mobile Data setting. Have you check it?

I just updated my iOS to 12 and I don’t have this under cellular. It’s annoying because before I cross to the US I like to manually change the carrier and now I cannot do that. Why did Apple remove the option???
 

Attachments

  • 00145C64-1B8B-4987-9E4B-5BC56DB4139D.jpeg
    00145C64-1B8B-4987-9E4B-5BC56DB4139D.jpeg
    178.8 KB · Views: 555
  • Like
Reactions: Proven-PPC-Mgr

Proven-PPC-Mgr

macrumors newbie
Oct 23, 2012
10
8
I just updated my iOS to 12 and I don’t have this under cellular. It’s annoying because before I cross to the US I like to manually change the carrier and now I cannot do that. Why did Apple remove the option???

Same thing I always do before going to the USA or visiting my in-laws who live in Canada, but they’re right on the US border.
 

Zeb1806

macrumors newbie
May 1, 2019
1
0
Sceenshot? I don’t see a carrier page in settings but did you mean Cellular page?
[doublepost=1556734421][/doublepost]I can’t find any further settings help me out please
 

Attachments

  • 204C8CD1-6951-45A9-A892-CB73B1D7D85F.png
    204C8CD1-6951-45A9-A892-CB73B1D7D85F.png
    68.9 KB · Views: 288

crashnburn

macrumors 6502
Nov 18, 2009
437
23
I don’t see Cellular settings anywhere, where are they ?!?
It’s a change in iOS 12. This is my X on iOS 12. It is now under Cellular settings and renamed as Cellular Network which is what I’m telling you. In your case, it might be under Mobile Data setting. Have you check it?
Talk about confusing users.
I have essentially that in iOS 11 (and had that in iOS 10 and before).

Seems like something like that might be more dependent on something like carrier settings.
It’s language dependent, change your language to English UK and Cellular will be called Mobile Data.
Confirmed, it is language dependent. You rock, thanks !
Give it to apple to confuse and mix veribage in the same English language.

PS: Is this same now between iOS 10, 12 and 14? I have to do some stuff with old phones and more confusing doing that between their Menu and Terminology Changes.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.