"Carrier" menu which vanishes under settings?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by zorinlynx, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #1
    I found something interesting.

    If I put my iPhone 4 in airplane mode, then turn it off, and turn it on, then go into settings and turn on Airplane mode, there is momentarily a "Carrier" menu there.

    The first time it vanished I didn't see what it was (I only noticed it because of something vanishing) so I tried again and managed to get into it. This is what it looks like: http://zorin.org/share/carrier.png

    Have I discovered some secret roaming setting? What is this menu used for? The fact that it vanishes almost immediately upon coming out of airplane mode after a phone restart must mean we're not intended to see it.
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    my carrier menu is always there, am i misunderstanding your post?
     
  3. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #3
    I usually only see the Carrier menu when I unlock my phone using ultrasn0w. And even then, it sometimes disappears. I've never seen it without having first unlocked the phone.
     
  4. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #4
    Carrier menu is in the list by default, but disappears when the phone determines that your phone is locked to a carrier.
     
  5. goonie4life9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #5
    Some Screenshots

    I just tried it and grabbed some screenshots...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. heisenberg123, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011

    heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    really? mine is always there and i bought it from Rogers(Canada) i know we have factory unlocks in Canada but i didnt buy it from the apple store i bought it right from Rogers, when i select the menu i see Telus, Bell and Rogers in my list which are the other carriers in Canada that have the iphone4does this mean i do have a factory unlock?

    photo.PNG
     
  7. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    I'm the same as the above poster. Rogers iPhone. I do get the carrier option. Currently, it only shows Rogers, I am in a very rural region however. But in the past it has shown Telus and Bell.
     
  8. zorinlynx thread starter macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #8
    What's with the wonky font? I've never seen a phone that looks like that before. o_O
     
  9. iKrl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #9
    That menu is there all the time, if I try to connect to a carrier that is not mine it will say that it isn't available. I guess this only happens in the US where AT&T is more present regarding the iPhone features.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    you can change your font if your jailbroken
     
  11. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    not true... my locked iPhone shows carrier menu all the time until I turn airplane mode on then it will disappear
     

Share This Page