Cat6 ethernet cable is fine, yeah?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Wie Gehts, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. Wie Gehts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #1
    I went into best buy to return a router. I have an express coming. But, the ethernet cable that came with the verizon westell dsl modem is not long enough for where I'm gonna stick the express. So while I was in the store I thought I'd get a longer cable. All the ethernet cables were Cat6 (RJ45).

    I did a little research just to make sure. Other than the specs on the cable being a bit overkill for my purposes, its still fine to use with the macbook, right?


    Its a regular cable, not a crossover cable. I mean, the cable that came with the moden is not a crossover, yes?. I search verizon but couldn't find whether it was one or not.


    Thanks :)
     
  2. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #2
    Yup, thats your one of the better ethernet cables available. Should be plenty fast, my house is wired with CAT5 for Fios, and it's plenty fast. Unless you are running above a gigabit ethernet connection, CAT6 will work great.
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Recent (since mid 2005) Macs have special ethernet ports which don't require crossover cables.
     
  4. Wie Gehts thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #4
    Ok, then! I'll rip open the plastic case and plug the cable in.

    Thanks for your help guys :):):)
     
  5. thefnshow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #5
    cat6 cables are used for gigabit networks...that's what i use
     

Share This Page