Catalina - install on a new Partition or new Volume?

Discussion in 'macOS Catalina (10.15)' started by udflyer, Jun 3, 2019.

  1. udflyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #1
    I went to create a new partition and Disk Utility really tries to lead you to a new volume instead.

    Does it matter which I create to test out Catalina?

    TIA
     
  2. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #2
    If you have APFS, just create a new Container/Volume. It shares free space with its siblings.
     
  3. avz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    #3
    I was under the impression that APFS volumes usually share an existing container and therefore are not bootable. Partition on the other hand creates a new container and is bootable. What did I miss?
     
  4. stormchasejg macrumors regular

    stormchasejg

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    East Preston, UK
    #4
    Apple actually has a support document for using APFS Volumes to install macOS https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208891 works fine and boots just done it today
     
  5. haralds, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019

    haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #5
    They are bootable. There can be hidden size issues. I just added an APFS container to a larger disk and then realized that I needed more space on that new container. I deleted a bunch of files in the other did not free up the space I needed.
    Note that the installer will create a second APFS container for the data portion of the install.
     
  6. avz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    #6
    So in essence I could have a Macintosh SSD and High Sierra as bootable volumes both under the Container disk1? No need for container disk2?

    Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 7.27.23 am.png
     

Share This Page

5 June 3, 2019