CCC backup is much smaller than the destination files?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by robodelfy, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. robodelfy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #1
    I'm just using Carbon Copy Cloner for the first time. I've cloned my 1tb internal SSD to a 2tb external HDD

    Now if I click 'get info' on MacintoshHD (the destination) it says 690gb

    And if I do the same on my CCC backup drive it says 560gb

    How can there be such a big difference, something is surely wrong?

    The strange thing is if I go into the root folder then the 4 folders inside are the same size, Applications, Library, System, Users

    So where is all that other size coming from!

    Sorry if its a silly questions
    Thanks
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
  3. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #3
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    It could be...

    Run this in Terminal and it will show all those hidden and system files along with their size in GB, so you can spot check from the CCC support document.

    Code:
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g /
     
  5. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #5
    It doesn't appear to show any sizes?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Those numbers to the left are size in GB. For example, your /Applications folder is using 46GB.
     
  7. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #7
    Thanks, but it still doesn't explain whats going on. If you have a look at the screenshots, you can see that when I 'get info' the amount of used space is vastly different. But when I look at the main folders side by side, its the same!

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    That Finder view is not showing all the hidden folders I mentioned. You also may have Time Machine on and that creates local snapshots that don't get moved over.
     
  9. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #9
    I do have time machine one. But could the difference be over 150GB. Its a huge amount of space to not really know whats taking it up
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    It can be if you have deleted a lot of files recently.

    Run this in Terminal and it will remove all the local snapshots.

    Code:
    tmutil  listlocalsnapshotdates / |grep 20|while read f; do tmutil deletelocalsnapshots $f; done
    You also have a 445GB users folder. Does that sound abut right? You may have some large cache files in there CCC is skipping.

    You can run that list command again on the users folder to drill down a little.

    Code:
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g ~/
     
  11. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #11
    Is it ok to delete all the local snapshots?

    Yes I think the users folder is around that, and the same on my CCC backup.
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Yes... won't hurt a thing.
     
  13. robodelfy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    #13
    So that appears to have got rid of some. But there is still a difference of 60gb depending on whether I click 'get info' on Macintosh HD, or if I select the 4 folders within it and 'get info' on them.
     
  14. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  15. Rodan52 macrumors regular

    Rodan52

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia and Bali, Indonesia
    #15
    Assuming your backup is bootable (and it should be) you can try running your device from the backup. I think you will find that everything is there as it should be but over time it will grow in total size. My wife discovered this when her old HDD failed and she had to run her MBP for three weeks from her CCC backup while awaiting a new SSD.
     

Share This Page