CCC backup smaller than it should be?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sine-nomine, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. sine-nomine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Finer stores everywhere.
    #1
    I've been using CCC for years, but somehow I've only just now noticed that Get Info shows all three of my backups are about 780GB, while my backed-up hard drive is about 920GB. In all cases, "Backup Everything" was selected in the drop-down menu. Maybe I'm missing the obvious, but what's causing the discrepancy in these sizes? Thanks!
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Maybe CCC is ignoring the cache folders, swap files, and other temporary type files/objects.
     
  3. sine-nomine thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Finer stores everywhere.
    #3
    That's my hope, but I'm surprised at suck a massive difference in size! (Btw, Time Machine has been disabled for months, so local backups shouldn't still be there, right?)
     
  4. musique macrumors regular

    musique

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #4
    You might ask assistance from Bombich (the company that produces CCC). I’ve found them to respond quickly and to be helpful whenever I’ve had questions. Good luck.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    Have you tried booting from one of your CCC backups, and then "taking a look around" to assure yourself that "everything is there" ... ???
     
  6. sine-nomine thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Finer stores everywhere.
    #6
    I have. Everything seems to be there, and oddly enough Get Info shows about 920GB used when I boot from a backup drive.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Its probably the difference in how OS X computes a gigabyte and how the application does. If you remember, apple changed what constituted a gigabyte a couple of versions ago
    1 GB = 1000000000 bytes vs 1 GiB = 1073741824 bytes
     
  8. sine-nomine thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Finer stores everywhere.
    #8
    Hmm, that doesn't seem capable of causing a 140GB discrepancy, though. Plus I'm using Get Info in OS X to determine the sizes of both the source and backup volumes.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    They should not, but sometimes they get stuck. Run the command below in Terminal to see if there is anything hanging around from TM local snapshots.

    CCC does not copy caches and swap etc., but I can't see that accounting for the large difference you are noticing.

    Code:
    sudo du -hs /.MobileBackups
     
  10. MacInMotion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #10

Share This Page