CCC Not Working...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ghsNick, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. ghsNick macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    I get this image when I go to backup a drive.

    Can anyone help me out here?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    CCC is working. It appears there's a problem with your drive, very likely hardware.
     
  3. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    Any suggestions on what I need to do here or how I fix my drive?

    I had 3 partitions on the hard drive and successfully backed up to one portion yesterday. Here's the hard drive in case that helps.

    I went under Disk Utility and "Zero Out" erased everything seeing if that will resolve the problem.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/MSQ7S20TB64/
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Try using Disk Utility to repair the disk. Note that "repair disk" is different than "repair permissions". If that doesn't help, your drive may be dying.
     
  5. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #5
    Should I quit zeroing out to try that?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I wouldn't interrupt an action in progress.
     
  7. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #7
    I had just started so it didn't get going...this is what it reported.

    Cold it be the firmware as indicated in the original message?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, it could be one of many possibilities. It will require some troubleshooting, eliminating possibilities until you find the culprit. CCC is very reliable software, so unless you've damaged your CCC installation, I would look to other possibilities. If you've verified the disk, I would reformat it and try again.
     
  9. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #9
    Last check I just ran...should I re-install CCC? I've been using it for 2 years without an issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    You can reinstall it if you want to, but it doesn't appear to be a problem with CCC at all.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    I second what GGJstudios wrote above.

    This has nothing to do with CCC -- it indicates a problem with the drive.

    But you seemed to have resolved that problem with the drive as you indicated in your replies above.

    If the drive is checking out OK with Disk Utility, I'd try to run CCC again.

    What results do you get now?
     
  12. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #12
    I'm sending it back to OWC since they cover it under a 3 Year Warranty :)

    It still won't back up no matter what I do.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    I have some suggestions for a backup drive, if you don't mind reading.

    First -- don't buy "an already put together" drive. Buy an enclosure or dock, then buy one or more "bare drives", then -- put it all together yourself.

    I'd recommend a USB3/SATA "docking station", and one or more "bare drives", as the best way to keep several Macs (or several large partitions) backed up.

    If you don't know what a dock is, go to amazon.com and enter "USB3 SATA DOCK" into the search area. You'll see many choices, most around $25 (for a single-bay dock).

    If your storage needs aren't too large, you might consider an enclosure like this:
    http://www.amazon.com/Optimized-Ina...9840740&sr=8-1&keywords=inateck+usb3+2.5+uasp

    .... and a 2.5" drive of your choice.
    It takes about 60 seconds to put it together (push off enclosure cover, drop drive inside, replace enclosure cover).
    If you are limited by 2.5" drive space (I believe the max is 2tb right now?), get TWO drives and TWO enclosures. (remember the saying about keeping all your eggs in one basket?)
     

Share This Page