cd in Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by sylco, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. sylco Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    #1
    Hi i'm not very experienced with Terminal. I ran a command to launch a program and can't seem to be able to use the cd command now.

    Is there something I need to do to be able to cd?
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Exactly what command did you run? Paste it in your reply.
     
  3. sylco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    #3
    java -jar start.jar

    also i'm hoping this will continue running?
     
  4. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #4
    Then you need to start it as a background process. I don't do this often enough to tell you how exactly you do it, but that's the keywords you need to search for.

    (I think it's something like stick an ampersand (&) in front of the command you want ran in the background?)
     
  5. sylco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    #5
    Ohh right. Hmm. I think I should learn some more about Terminal.

    I only just thought, I couldn't run other commands in a new Terminal window?
     
  6. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    You could definitely run in another terminal, but:
    nohup yourCommand > /dev/null 2> /dev/null < /dev/null &
    Should start the command in the background discarding all output, tying stdin to null, and ignoring hangup signals.

    After you run this way, you will have that terminal free to keep working, and can close the terminal without terminating the command.

    -Lee
     
  7. sylco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
  8. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #8
    Or just make a new tab in the Terminal app and open another shell.
     

Share This Page