CD MBP and Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gadgetgirl85, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I have a core duo macbookpro and I'm wondering is it possible to run Vista on it? Or would I be better off buying XP. You also need a full version and not an upgrade is that right?
     
  2. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I have a CD 1.66GHz Mac mini and it runs Vista fine, with full aero (although it gives itself a rating of 3.3/10).
     
  3. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #3
    Do I actually have to buy the full version for it? or will the upgrade work
     
  4. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    You need the full version, an upgrade disc will only "upgrade" something. Which version you want to buy is entirely up to you.
     
  5. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    So say I had a copy of Windows 98 and upgraded it. Would that work?
     
  6. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #6
    Ok I'm going to buy a full version of Vista home. Will this work? I just want to run a statistical program on it and a few programs for uni
     
  7. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    You'd have to check if the install CD will allow you to upgrade all the way from 98, or if it just supports XP.

    Should do. Just print out the 40-odd pages of info before you reboot and start installing so you know exactly what your doing. It was a waste of a bit of paper, but it guided me through everything so well.

    The most important part of the installation is choosing the partition to install Vista on, Boot Camp will create a partition for you to install on, but just make sure you choose the right one, the wrong one will leave you with nothing, as you'll have formatted your mac installation.

    It's all in the documentation ;)
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    Do you think 1.5 gb of memory will be enough? These programs arent too sophisticated that I want to use (Ie Microsoft Office, SPSS)
     
  9. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    1.5GB is plenty for office applications and the like.
     
  10. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #10
    Thanks for the help. I will post back tomorrow if I'm having problems with the install
     

Share This Page