Center vertically?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by khamla, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. khamla macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #1
    Hi all simple beginner question. I am designing a page html via godaddy's index account. Again not using dreamweaver or anything like that all just html code.

    How do i center my page vertically, i have it right now centered left and right but also need it vertically as well. And where this goes in my index file.

    I know this is very simple but I'm a beginner and would like to know so even i can understand it, thanks!
     
  2. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #3
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Well, no one can help you unless you show some code or provide a link.
     
  4. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
  5. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #6
    This is OT, but you should figure out a way to make your website work with smaller screens. I'm on a 15" MBP and even with this I have to scroll down to click the arrow, and then scroll up to read the full image. Why not put the arrows inside the main image directly like many other sites do?
     
  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    With a page that tall, centering vertically is pointless. I can't even test a solution it's so tall. You've also got some serious validation issues of the HTML code, and your site is virtually empty with JavaScript disabled, which hurts your SEO. The center tag is deprecated so shouldn't be used and using tables for layout should be avoided. Just trying to give some helpful advice as it's hard to give a solution with your current code.
     
  7. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #8
    Contact Us

    Yeah i dont think i have to worry about centering vertically, i do need help on how to do a contact us page.

    Basically the fields to do a contact us page.

    Basically fields for your

    email address
    subject line
    then the message and submit button.

    I manage to find codes to put it up but not getting it to work right.
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Does your host support PHP? It's one of the more common ways to process contact forms. You'll need to do some form of server side processing (like PHP) to do this kind of page. You'll also need to make sure you use .php extension on the file. You didn't specify what you tried so it's hard to help you. Please remember we aren't psychic and you need to provide meaningful information if you want practical help.
     
  9. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #10
    I know i don't provide the best info but that's because i really don't know much. As far as PHP, i have no idea what that is, but i did look through our account and it says our PHP version is PHP 4.x if that helps?

    I can tell you that our account is through godaddy, we have done websites before but we had those sites done by other people being built via flash etc.

    On this particular site we are just building it via html via godaddy's index page. So that's how i'm building it, no dreamweaver no nothing so for me the hard part is understanding the code, where to copy and paste it and edit the code so it works for our site.

    What i'm trying to do now for this site is just like this message box on how you are typing me. So when people visit the site they can send us a message a contact box, and to be sure they're message goes to our appropriate mail box.
     
  10. mightypants macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #11

    You can find free scripts for simple forms such as you are describing at various web sites. Here's one. I would recommend that over trying to create one yourself if you don't already know some PHP. It looks like your host is properly equipped, so just download one of the available scripts and follow the instructions included with it.
     
  11. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    The key still is, what have you tried? We need to know this in order to tell you what you're doing wrong. It could be a matter of placing the code in the wrong spot, or using the wrong file extension. That's the type of information I'm trying to get from you. Currently it's like trying to tell you why you got an answer wrong on a test and you haven't shown us the test or question or answer.
     
  12. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #13
    Well i think i'm ok now, I got the contact page to work for now.

    I used this website and signed up.

    www.emailmeform.com

    The thing I was telling you guys at first that didn't work for me was the vertically centering. I didn't know how to do it, but after talking to you guys i dont think i even need it.
     
  13. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #14
    Unfortunately, this is one of the ugly spots in HTML/CSS. There really isn't a way to center vertically. There are a number of workarounds that people use - all of them flawed in some way. And, unfortunately, many of them are browser-specific, or use alternative workarounds for different browsers.

    Do some Google searches, and you will find a number of methods. You will have to match that up with your specific needs.
     
  14. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #15
    for those with IE, can you check the link to this website?


    I didn't notice this because i don't have IE, i have safari and firefox, but apparently when i hit the arrows to next the transitions do some sort of filter thing on each page. I just want it to transition normally. Can you guys look at the view source code and tell me what i need to take out?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    To remove, comment out (or delete) the lines,
    PHP:
    applyeffect()
    playeffect()
    They exist in two spots, the forward and backward functions.
     
  16. elitesouth macrumors member

    elitesouth

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    Savannah GA
    #17
    If you don't care about using tables, do:

    Code:
    <table width="100%" height="100%">
    <tr><td>
    (your content)
    </td></tr>
    </table>
     
  17. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #18
    Ok so here's a screen shot of what i think your talking about.

    Which lines do i edit or take out again?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    Correct section. Comment out (placing // at front of line) or delete the lines I write out. There are 4 lines total to edit.
     
  19. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #20

    Does this transition normally with no stupid effects? I dont have IE to check, thanks!
     
  20. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    Tested with IE8 (though should be the same for older IE too) and had no transition effects, just like other browsers show.
     
  21. khamla thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #22
    YOU ARE AMAZING!
     

Share This Page