Certain FAN accounts exempt from tax? Premier Store Order

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dangsdunks, Jun 17, 2010.

1. dangsdunks macrumors member

I thought maybe last year i got lucky and they didn't add the tax on the 3GS, i only got charged 199, the tax never ended up being on my bill. I would have noticed because i am a lucky resident of California, and the tax would have been $68.25, since tax here is 9.75%.

I ordered the iPhone 4 early Tuesday morning through the Premier Store, and no charges showed up until today, but it is for the same amount $199.

BTW, this is an Individual FAN account for USPS.

2. themadrussian macrumors regular

I live in MA, where they charge you sales tax (6.25%) on the full, unsubsidized price ($699 for the 32GB).

I have an IBM FAN# associated with my account, and when I ordered through AT&T Premier on 6/15 at 2:30 PM ET I got a confirmation email immediately, and neither the email nor the page that listed the cost of the phone and the upgrade fee had any sales tax listed. The email says tax is "TBD" (weird, because normally they just calculate it immediately from the zip code).

Anyway - my AT&T Premier order confirmation email lists the following one-time price of $517.00 (I was not eligible for the full discount so I paid $499 for the phone plus the $18.00 upgrade fee).

However, when I log in to check my credit card information, I see temporary authorization for $530.19. Now, that's weird.

Here's the breakdown:
    Phone $499.00
    Upgrade fee $18.00
    Sales tax on unsubsidized cost $43.68
    Sales tax on subsidized cost $31.19

It appears, since the only combination of those prices that leads to $530.19, that AT&T has waived my upgrade fee and charged me sales tax based on the subsidized cost of the phone, which they are not supposed to do!

So weird.

3. seand1111 macrumors regular

Why would your tax have been $68+?

9.75% of $199 = $19.4025..... ;)

4. themadrussian macrumors regular