Change Admin Username? How? Mac OS 10.5

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kenn, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. kenn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #1
    Can one change the Admin Username on a MB running Mac OS 10.5 with only one Administrator account and without the OS Install CD at hand?


    Perhaps one can create a second account with a proper Username and then wipe out the first one after copying files to the new account??
     
  2. kenn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #3
    I just changed my opener so I guess your answer/link doesn't apply any longer? Correct me if I´m wrong. Thanks anyway.
     
  3. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Still applies, read the article :)
     
  4. kenn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #5
    I'm afraid you are wrong?? Why I think so is because of this quote from the article you refer to.
    -----------------------
    2. Log in as a different user than the one you want to modify; make sure the account you want to modify is not logged in.
    ----------------------

    It requires a second login which you don't have when you start out. That's why I suggested the idea above. Hope I'm wrong of course.:)
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Kenn, drlunanerd is right.

    It takes second to create a new account, do the thing, log back, and delete the second account.
     
  6. kenn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #7
    Who is right? Me (kenn) or drlunanerd or both???:eek:
     

Share This Page