Change carrier name for one carrier

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bertbekkelik, Nov 24, 2015.

  1. bertbekkelik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys,

    My service provider over here in Europe changed the carrier name on our phones to the plan you have...
    So let's say a carrier 'X' had phone plan 'A', 'B' and 'C', it shows A, B or C, depending on what plan you've got. It used to say 'X', though.

    I know it's something stupid, but it really bugs me. Especially because my plan has such a dumb name...
    So, I'd actually like to change it back to my service provider's name, BUT without jailbreaking, if that's possible.
    I don't like jailbreaks because: even though I had tweaks installed that hid the fact that my phone was jailbroken, a lot of apps that are necessary for me found out that my phone was jailbroken AND I often took my phone out of my pocket, and it said Springboard crashed or idk and I had to restart, blah blah blah...

    So yeah, if possible, no jailbreak. But I only want to change the current carrier name to my provider's name. I live in Europe, so you're easily connected to a cell network from another country, because it's like going to another state for you guys.
    Going to another country means your dataroaming, which means I need to pay an additional fee for using the web outside of my country. I go abroad like 3 or 4 times a month, and I know when I have to be careful with my data usage because the carrier name changes so I know my phone's connected to a foreign network.

    So... I only want to change the current name to something else, but I still want my phone to show all the other network names when I'm connected to them.
    (f.e. my phone says 'B' now, but I want it to say 'X'... When I go to f.e. the Netherlands, I want it to say 'T-Mobile NL', not 'X', so I know I have to be careful).

    Is this possible? Or can I just change my carrier's ipcc file so it says X again (I know someone has done this before to get LTE because Apple used to block this in Europe on iOS 6)...

    I'm sorry for the long explanation and my poor English.

    Thank you guys so much in advance!


    Sincerely,
    Bert
     
  2. geoff5093 macrumors 68000

    geoff5093

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dover, NH
    #2
    I really don't think it's possible. You can jailbreak it and change the name, but that is a permanent change AFAIK, not just for a carrier you choose while the rest appear. Apple doesn't let you arrange icons anyway you want, they won't let you change the carrier name lol.
     
  3. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #3
    Oh damn, lol, thanks anyway!
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Carriers alphatag is set by the network and can't be changed without jail breaking
     
  5. Merkie macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    I hate it that iOS shows the carrier all the time. It's so useless. I've had the same carrier for years, I know what carrier I have. If Apple would only show it on the lock screen, that would be much better imho.
     
  6. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #6
    The carrier name only takes up space in the bar at the top (don't know what's it called).
    The dots and the kind of network you're connected to (GPRS, E, 3G or 4G) would be enough, no need for the name itself.
     
  7. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #7
    Hmm... I'm not sure if this is true.
    Apple blocked European 4G networks on iPhones, but some one could change the ipcc carrier file and:
    1) Give 4G LTE access
    2) Change the 4G logo into LTE (because since iOS 7, iPhones say 4G instead of LTE on most - if not all - European carriers)
    3) Change the carrier name

    But I've got no clue how to do that.
     
  8. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    You can't get that deep into the phones filesystem without jailbreaking it.
     
  9. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #9
    No, no! That's not what I mean.
    If you go to settings > general > info and scroll down to carrier, you'll find something like 'AT&T 21.0' etc.
    That's an ipcc file with information in it about that carrier, especially for an iPhone (or iPad).
    Somebody downloaded that file and edited it on the computer, and shared it with everyone on the forum.
    You had to download the file, hold the option key and press the update button in iTunes and upload the new carrier file to your iPhone.
    It worked fine until iOS 7, then you needed to jailbreak to be able to upload the file because it wasn't officially signed by Apple.
     
  10. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #10
    Lord, people get upset over everything.

    Either move past your disdain for jailbreaking or switch carriers.
     
  11. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #11
    Bruh it's taking up all the space in the status bar because it's such a freaking long name... Sometimes it even says 'xxx...' because the name is too long.

    I've got an iPhone 6, but this is my business iPhone, which is a 5. It has to be on iOS 8.4.1, and my boss pays the bills so I can't change carriers. He doesn't want us to jailbreak, because a lot of our apps recognize when you're using a jailbroken iPhone. However, I talked about this with my boss, and he said he absolutely hates it too. He called our provider and Apple, but Apple says they can't change it, and our provider doesn't know how this happened.

    Anyway, my boss said it's okay to jailbreak, as long as you don't install tweaks that cause your phone to reboot often, and as long as you find something that hides the fact you're using a jailbroken phone.

    And would you be okay if you wake up one day and instead of 'AT&T' it says 'mbldata.business'? I don't think so either.

    Does anyone know if the iPhone 5 with iOS 8.4.1 can be jailbroken with a Mac? Because I can't find anything about it on the internet (so.......yeah.)... Are there any tweaks out there that let you change one specific network name into something else? Thank y'all
     
  12. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #12
    It used to be possible, though I don't know whether it still works:
    http://www.idownloadblog.com/2012/12/31/carriereditor/
     
  13. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #13
  14. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #14
    Yeah I'm going to jailbreak my iPhone 6 whenever the 9.2 jailbreak comes out. One of the first things I'm going to do is get rid of the carrier text, make it just dots and then the connection type (wifi, LTE, etc). I believe this is possible with Zeppelin, FakeCarrier or NoCarrier.

    Anyway, I definitely feel your pain, I only have "Verizon" at the top though. Just looks annoying seeing that pointless info taking up space all the time. What exactly does it say at the top for you now? What was it before? Just kinda curious.

    I want my iPhone to look the way it does on many App Store screenshots, no carrier name. Looks a lot better imo.
     
  15. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #15
    It used to say 'Proximus', and now it says 'mbldata.business', but it often says 'mbldata...'. Apparently, this is the phone plan all employees have, but it shouldn't be there where your carrier name should be. I am using the Proximus 20.0 carrier bundle though, it's so weird.

    If I put my business sim card in my personal iPhone 6, the exact same problem occurs.
    I'm on T-Mobile Belgium, though, which is called 'Mobistar' over here, and on my cellular iPad it says 'Mobistar' or 'MOBISTAR', depending on where I am. My iPhone doesn't do this?...

    It's weird and I'd rather have '••••• 4G'. I know what carrier I'm with, the one that sends me nice letters with their logo on it every month, and ask for money, lol.

    Why doesn't Apple just show the carrier name on the lock screen on the bottom only, or something like that. It's like my Macbook would say what the name of SSID of your WiFi network is all the time.
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    That is how iOS has been designed likely with some input from carriers.
     
  17. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #17
    Yeah, good comparison. It is like seeing the SSID all the time. Unnecessary. The carrier should only display at the top left corner on the lockscreen in my opinion, or there should at least be an option for it to be on or off for those who swap SIMs all the time. If the phone is roaming however, it should say so AT ALL TIMES.

    This is one dilemma I am already experiencing before I have even jailbroken to make my desired changes. I am scared I will start roaming before I know it and there won't be any indication of such behavior until it is too late. I live in the US though so I don't usually go too close to the border, and I hardly ever go abroad. I probably will just disable the tweak during these situations though, just to stay safe.
     
  18. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    Showing the carrier name all the time is useful when you want to know you're roaming. They either have to do this or give us a roaming indicator.
     
  19. bertbekkelik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    #19
    Apple could make a lot of small, easy changes that'd make the iPhone a way more pleasant phone to use. Like, choosing if you want to see your carrier or not, or only when you're roaming, or only show an 'R' when you're roaming...

    I still prefer the iPhone over any other phone, though.


    Anyway, thanks for yalls help and thoughts! :)
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Part of showing the carrier name could be in relation to agreements with carriers as well perhaps (at least maybe from earlier days when phones used to be branded with carrier names and Apple didn't want to do that and this was the compromise in a sense).
     
  21. Jay43 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    #21
    What is the name of your plan? Normally proximus sim cards are supposed to show Proximus as carrier and not the name of your plan.

    Have you tried to go to a Proximus center and ask for a new sim card? It might fix your problem

    And FYI Mobistar is orange not T-mobile ;)
     
  22. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #22
    [MOD NOTE]
    Please stop with the bickering, its derailing the thread. A number of posts were removed
     

Share This Page