change default name and default spellcheck

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by technekai, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. technekai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #1
    my first mac, yay! but so many things i'm not sure how to do...

    for example: when installing software, i dont like the default name it thinks i have. i dont recall EVER, on this machine, using the long form of my last name. i usually use the short form. but by default, when installing software or even in ichat, it uses my super long last name. grrrr. where to change my default display name?

    another default that is frustrating - i wish the mac would stop underlining things it thinks i've misspelled. i write in several languages, so i'm always getting that red underline thing, across multiple apps. is this a global preference? where to change? i don't want spellcheck e-v-e-r.

    thanks so much for your help,
    aya.
     
  2. DukeofAnkh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #2
    I'm not sure how to actually turn it off, but if you're writing in many languages, you can change it to be multilingual. Right click in text edit, or whatever you're typing in that's underlining things, go to spelling and grammar > show spelling and grammar then choose "multilingual". Or if you're using pages, go to text inspector in the inspector box (the T icon) and change language there to "none" or "all".
     
  3. technekai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #3
    you know, the multilingual setting seems to work across native mac apps. i changed to multilingual in textedit, then when i went to do the same in stickies, multilingual was already selected. thanks!

    but anyone have any idea how to change my default display name?

    best,
    aya (recent switcher from ugly ibm t42 thinkpad)
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    System Preferences -> Accounts -> <your account> -> Password tab -> User Name


    The global spell checking needs to be turned on or off separately for each application, I'm afraid (the language can be changed globally from any of them, but the when-to-check preference seems to be per application).

    Have you tried the "Multilingual" setting?
     
  5. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #5
    Sounds like you want to change the Admin name. You will need Admin privileges to do this. Are you normally running in the Admin account or a Standard account? In System Preferences, go to Accounts. Make sure you are in an account that has Admin access. Then I believe you just change it to whatever you want and save it. It's easy, even though right now I don't remember how I did it. I needed to because I had been running in Admin for the first month of having my iMac and wanted to get out of that habit.
    I hope this at least gets you on the right path. Good luck,
    Morod
     
  6. technekai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    hmmm. i AM running as admin, the Admin User Name is: technekai.

    but then whenever i register/install software, it has my huge long full name (two first names, middle name, three last names), and i just want Firstname Lastname.

    oooooooooh wait i just found it. i have to edit my Address Book Card. hooray! you did point me on the right path, thanks.
     

Share This Page