Change domain name with 301 redirect

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by haralake, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. haralake, Apr 18, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2016

    haralake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    #1
    I need to change only domain name of the site and keep everything else the same. I check the steps to make this happen but i don't know if is all right and if this is the right order:
    1. Create a copy of existing site with the new domain name and publish a sitemap on Google and Bing.
    2. Add 301 redirect to .htaccess on the old site to move all the old links to the new site with new domain name.
    3. Go to Google webmaster tools and tell google about new domain name with "change of address tool".
    4. Wait 1 year or more to see analytics if there still links that point to old domain name.
    Is this the right method?

    Thank you
     
  2. haralake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    #2
    I don't know if the first step is necessary. Can i just change domain name on my site and just put the redirect on my .htaccess? Or i must make a copy of the old site with new domain and keep both of them?
     
  3. haralake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
  4. hatuko macrumors member

    hatuko

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    #4
    In the virtual host of the site you can have both domains for a while with one redirecting to the other, no need to have two copies of the site.
     
  5. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #5
    Why not just put a redirect into the header of the .index or .default file of the old domain name that goes to the new domain name ?

    Alternatively, if the two domains are on the same OS X server, you can manage it through there for the redirect to the new domain.
     

Share This Page