Change my processor?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sam8675309, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. sam8675309 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #1
    Let's say, years from now my Macbook is considerably slower. Is it possible to change/upgrade the processor or would the price to change a processor just not be worth it?
    (I also understand that I can upgrade the RAM and hard drive. Also, I understand that this post deals with the 'uncertain' future, but the idea is the same as if I wanted to change a processor on a laptop today)
     
  2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #2
    AFAIK all Apple laptops have their processors soldiered in, so effectively no, you can't DIY swap.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    if you COULD find the CPU you would be hard pressed to be able to succesfully change them over. they are soldered on, a technician could do it im sure, but the CPUs cost $1000+ as they are not sold by Intel - 3rd party people buy the laptops, take the CPU out and then resell etc.
     
  4. sam8675309 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    The only really feasible way to upgrade a CPU on an Apple laptop would be to do a complete logic board swap to a compatible one that has a faster chip soldered on. And that's not exactly cheap. Even on the used market, spare logic boards can grab $500-1000, depending on model. Additionally, doing the actual swap isn't for the feint of heart.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    not to mention the other threats such as incompatibilities with both hardware and the physical size of the thing, depending on what logic board you go for of course.
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    I don't think so. BGAs really require mechanized handling for any sort of reliable repair or maintenance.
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    And you would also have to deal with the issue of matching the bus speed and firmware and memory. It's simply not worth the effort; a new computer would have faster bus/memory and firmware to match the CPU.
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    i could have sworn i remember somebody here on MR doing the swap. that was about 2 years ago i think. but yea mechanical would be a lot smarter - if possible.
     

Share This Page