Change name below app icon on homescreen

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mikegs, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Mikegs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #1
    This is a tough one for the experts

    Has mBox Mail installed and under the icon it says exactly "mBox Mail". I want to change this to mail (or something else). Where should I edit the info.plist (see below)

    The info.plist reads:

    bplist00ß


    &'()*+,\CFBundleName_CFBundleIdentifier_CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion_CFBund leResourceSpecification_CFBundleVersion_CFBundleExecutable_LSRequiresIPhoneOS_UIPrerenderedI con_CFBundleDisplayName_CFBundleSupportedPlatforms_CFBundleURLTypes_CFBundlePackageType_CF BundleIconFile_CFBundleSignature_MinimumOSVersion^DTPlatformNameYDTSDKName_CFBundleDevelopment Region_CFBundleShortVersionStringXmBoxMail_com.mboxmail.mboxmailS6.0_ResourceRules.plistS3.1Xm BoxMail YmBox Mail¡XiPhoneOS¡ Ò!"#$_CFBundleURLName_CFBundleURLSchemes_com.mboxmail.newMail¡%WnewMailTAPPLXIcon.pngT????S3.0 Xiphoneos[iphoneos3.0Ren
     
  2. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    I think the app 'rename II' in cydia will let you change the name...
     
  3. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    Do a Google search using this search string:

    repo "Rename II 2.0"

    Download Rename II 2.0 from a repo and use it.

    S-
     
  4. localboy28 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #4
    i changed my tom tom recently by editing the plst info file

    change this

    <key>CFBundleDisplayName</key>
    <string>TOMTOM</string>


    replace the display name to whatever you want
    the part where it says tomtom above
     
  5. Jnardis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #5
    Works like a charm and no winterboard. Love it. TXs
     
  6. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Using LocalBoy's solution does not require Winterboard OR another app.
     
  7. Jnardis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #7
    I know, but this was pretty simple.
     
  8. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    Rename II keeps track of the original name if you ever want to set it back. An app is a better choice here. It's faster and there is less chance of a mistake.

    S-
     
  9. Jnardis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #9
    Where can I find the original name after I've changed?

    **NM, I assume O-N stands for original name. LOL Sry about that.
     
  10. The.316 macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
  11. stuckinneutral macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #11
    what repos source do i add to find rename II ?
     
  12. j.dstasio macrumors 6502

    j.dstasio

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #12
    Download an Emoji app. & use the alt keyboard.
     
  13. Black Vegeta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #13
    So I open up the Rename app, pick an app to rename. I rename it to whatever I want, but the change doesn't take place.

    Is it because I have winterboard or a theme activated?
     
  14. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #14
    Respring......

    S-
     
  15. Black Vegeta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #15
    I did.

    I looked on a YouTube video and it shows that it automatically resprings after you change the name. Mine doesn't do that. :(

    I even respring it myself and no change takes place.

    Anyone else getting this problem?
     
  16. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #16
    Same.
     
  17. hatersgonnahate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #17
    tried this too. and no worky on iphone 4.
     
  18. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #18
  19. hatersgonnahate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #19
    got me stuck on downloading packages. should i quit cydia?
     
  20. hatersgonnahate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
  21. Black Vegeta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #21
    Yeah, that worked. Thanks!
     
  22. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #22
    Thanks.

    EDIT: iPod doesnt seem to be listed.
     
  23. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #23
    Yeah, good luck with that.....go ahead, try to change it via the shell.

    S-
     
  24. Gavernty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #24
    I used this repo and I kept getting a cydia database error afterwards

    had to ssh into my phone and edit cydia.list to fix it
     
  25. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #25
    I think the error is a coincidence. I have added and deleted that repo several times with no errors.

    S-
     

Share This Page