Change Raid 1 to Raid 0 on External Raid HD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MYoungz1, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. MYoungz1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    #1
    Anyone know how to change an External HD Raid 1 to Raid 0 with High Sierra OS 10.13.3? It's an external Raid Drive with 2 drive enclosures. I want to erase all data and start over with a Raid 0 for the 2 drives enclosed in the external drive. Apple can't even help.
     
  2. SaSaSushi macrumors 601

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #2
    Disk Utility > File > Raid Assistant

    Back up any data you may want to save on the drives beforehand.
     
  3. MYoungz1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Feb 13, 2018 ---
    Yes, that's what I thought too. But, that doesn't work because it's a Raid Drive formatted as a Raid 1. So, Raid Assistant recognizes the drive as one drive. I need to be able to select 2 drives to reformat it as a Raid 0.
     
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 601

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #4
    First you need to select the RAID 1 array in Disk Utility and press the Delete RAID button.

    There are detailed steps in this guide.

    Again, back up all data before doing this. :)
     
  5. MYoungz1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    #5
    Thanks for your help... I still can't get it to work though. In High Sierra there is no Raid Sets option and no Delete Raid option. Maybe it's because the Raid wasn't created with Disk Utilities? I don't know what I'm missing here... should be simple.
     
  6. hfg, Feb 14, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2018

    hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    What do you have as a RAID disk box ... is it "hardware RAID"? If so, you will have to change the RAID mode with switches in/on the disk box. Software RAID using Disk Utility requires the disk box to be in a "JBOD" mode so that each disk is individually addressed.
     
  7. SaSaSushi macrumors 601

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #7
    DOH! Thank you, @hfg!

    Of course setting the proper mode on the device is a critical step in the process.
     

Share This Page

6 February 13, 2018