Change Software Update Server

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SaintDiablo, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. SaintDiablo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    I recently bought a computer from my school but the software update server seems to have been changed to the school's server. How can I change to the official one?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    In terminal, paste the following:

    Code:
    defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL
    Hit return. Should be fine after that.
     
  3. SaintDiablo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #3
    Thanks! Worked great! Also I have another question. My default desktop isn't what I set it to. What preference file will I have to delete for that?
     
  4. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #4
    explain better what you mean :)
     
  5. SaintDiablo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    Well a Mac's default background image (the image behind the login window) should be set to /System/Library/CoreServices/SecurityAgentPlugins/loginwindow.bundle/Contents/Resources/DefaultDesktop.jpg right? Well on mine it's not set to that and I'm not sure how to change the preference that changes the Default Desktop's place/
     
  6. Seacow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    #6
    code didn't work :(

    The code
    defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL
    Didn't work it came up with this -
    Could not write domain com.apple.SoftwareUpdate
     
  7. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #7
    Things may have changed in OS X since 2009, when this thread was last active.
     

Share This Page