Change the tritone installation complete sound

Discussion in 'macOS' started by The General, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    This isn't too hard to do.

    NOTE: Always, always make a backup if you muck around inside an application bundle, just in case something goes wrong.
    1. Open the Applications folder
    2. Open the Utilities folder inside it
    3. Find the Installer program
    4. Control- (or right-) click it and choose Show Package Contents
    5. Open the Contents folder
    6. Open the Resources folder
    7. In here is the sound file you need to replace. You'll need to make sure the original sound and the one you're replacing it with are in the same format, as well as have the same name.
    8. To find which sound file is the right one, if there's more than one, just open the sound files in QuickTime Player and listen to them.
     
  3. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    Installer isn't in Utilities, it's in /System/Library/CoreServices, and I can't find any sound files inside it.

    I can't find the sound file anywhere. :(
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Finally found it - took some searching.

    Code:
    /System/Library/Components/CoreAudio.component/Contents/Resources/SystemSounds/system/burn complete.aif
     
  5. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    Cool! Thank you. I will convert this to aif and try replacing it as soon as my boss steps out. :cool:
     
  6. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006

Share This Page