change useraccount name

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Littleboo, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. Littleboo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    can you change the user account name? I opened up preferences and changed the name and I got an error that said the name was already taken and it still shows up in finder as the old name.
     
  2. FunkyMonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #2
    You can change the name as long as there isn't another user with the same name.
     
  3. sawmaster macrumors regular

    #3
    anybody have your same name? he's gotta be right
     
  4. Littleboo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #4
    you mean in the whole wide world only one name can be used? Oh my good thing my name isn't john smith.
     
  5. FunkyMonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #5
    LOL, no just on your computer. Go into your Users folder and look at the names of the users there. Then change your name accordingly.
     
  6. johto macrumors 6502

    johto

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    DO NOT RENAME YOUR HOME FOLDER under finder! :eek:

    Your "full name" is differend than your "username"

    fullname = John Smith
    username = jsmith
    username = homefolder name

    If you are trying to change your username, you need to make a new account and then transfer your stuff under your homedirectory to the newly created user's homedir.

    Before you do any of these, make a NEW ADMIN account, eg, named "admin" with good password.
    This way if you foobar your account(s), there is at least one working account which you can use to troubleshoot!
     
  7. Littleboo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #7
    How do I move everything to a new user? that sounds scary!
     
  8. johto macrumors 6502

    johto

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    You dont if you dont know what you are doing!

    I have done it by using third account(admin) ...
    If you transfer your files, make sure you file permissions are reflecting the current right user afterwards ;)
     

Share This Page