Changed DNS on Airport Time Capsule to Google public DNS...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by sick z33, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. sick z33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #1
    I changed my DNS settings on my Airport to the Google public DNS due to ongoing problems with Uverse DNS server in my area.

    I've rebooted the router and all my devices, however my PCs/Mac/iPhone are still showing my gateway IP 192.168.2.1 as the current DNS server. Is this normal? Forgive me as I am a networking noob.
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    That is saying it is DNS from your router settings!
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Totally normal. The computer looks to the router/modem first for cached DNS information, then if that fails it will reach out to the Google DNS address.
     
  4. sick z33 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    The clients will continue to show the gateway IP as the DNS as Weaselboy stated, but if your AirPort is in Bridge Mode then its DNS settings will be ignored.
     

Share This Page