Changes to window display in mission control??

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by ragnu, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. ragnu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #1
    We were told 10.11 would change the way windows were displayed in Mission Control. I can't see any change. Before, you had a choice between having windows of the same application stacked up, or not, and, with El Capitan, you have the exact same choice. So what's new?
    Thank you
     
  2. AdamskiUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #2
    Open Mission Control. You'll seen that, instead of having portals into different Spaces, you just see 'Desktop 1', 'Desktop 2-x' etc. etc. until you hover over that bar. Then, and only then, will the images pop up showing you what's running on each Space.

    This isn't useful, this is a hindrance. I run a 13" rMBP with a 24" and a 22" screen. I don't need to save vertical space at all. Give me the option to turn this feature off, Apple!
     
  3. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    I agree there needs to be an option to disable that "feature".
     
  4. ragnu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #4
    I agree with both of you re the hidden Spaces bar. What I was referring to was something more basic. In the runup to El Capitan, one of the rumoured "changes" was to the display of open windows on the current desktop. They said they would no longer be stacked. That seemed odd to me, since you already had the option of keeping the windows unstacked by unchecking a box in System Preferences, but I thought Apple might have some sort of innovation in store for us, and was eager to see what it was, since I've always been a bit unsatisfied with Mission Control. But what I see is no change whatsoever in that respect, unless I'm missing something.
     
  5. hojx macrumors 6502

    hojx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    I was quite puzzled about this as well since I thought the option to group by app or not has been there for quite some time. When I watched the WWDC announcement I was rather amused and was wondering why the audience was clapping so furiously.

    I think the change is that the windows are now laid out in the same relative position as they were in the desktop? I can't test this out to see if it is through though.
     
  6. ragnu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #6
    Well, I'm sure they clapped just as furiously when they first saw how Lion stacked the windows up.

    The ultimate refinement would be for them to bring back window names in Mission Control, they way they do with App Exposé, and did with All-Window Exposé in Snow Leopard.
     
  7. ragnu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #7
    Just tested this on two computers, one running 10.10 and the other 10.11. Opened the same windows, in the same places, on both computers, invoked Mission Control, and found no difference in behavior.
     
  8. !!! macrumors 6502

    !!!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #8
    Please report a bug, this annoys me so much!
     
  9. pickaxe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #9
    Uh, they did. You mouse over a window and a floating box with the window name appears. This is new to El Capitan.
     
  10. ragnu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #10
    Thanks pickaxe; I hadn't noticed that. It would make it easier to find the window you want if all the names appeared at the same time, like in App Exposé, though. Still, it's an improvement.
     
  11. AdamskiUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #11
    Oh trust me, I needed no prompting to report this stupid feature.
     
  12. hojx macrumors 6502

    hojx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    I was puzzled by the change and over time I realised what the rational behind the change could have been.

    Split Screen.

    When you have e.g. App A and App B placed side-by-side fullscreen, the Space in Mission Control is named as "App A & App B". There will often be instances where the application names gets truncated when the preview is shown immediately.

    When the hidden previews (until you either move to the Spaces bar or drag a window) are as such, full titles are allowed to be displayed.

    I also noticed that to help ease users in, when the titles are far from center, on mouseover the Space title the previews will actually be located off-center dynamically where your cursor is.
     
  13. stevemiller macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #13
    while that may be their logic, its still a terrible usability compromise. text only is less glance-able, which is a loss for everyone. the small split screen multitasking 'benefit' assumes people are going to be spending lots of time pairing apps together. i tried it once on the beta and honestly i have little to no use for it. if i need two windows side by side, just doing it on a desktop is way more flexible in my mind (especially with better touch tool). so basically this 'feature' is all loss and no gain for me.
     
  14. kyemaloy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #14
    If you have loads and loads of desktops open (I opened the max amount) it shows a preview of each desktop and fullscreen app, not the worded title of each (if thats what your all talking about xD)

    Tried uploading image of it but the screenshot was too big to upload
     
  15. AdamskiUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #15
    I got up to 16 desktops and it still didn't give me a desktop preview. I gave up and got bored. I usually have 8 desktops open, I want to see what's on them!
     

Share This Page