Changing a graphics card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gary Davidson, Feb 9, 2018.

?

Changing my graphics card

  1. 6

    4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. 6

    3 vote(s)
    75.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Gary Davidson macrumors newbie

    Gary Davidson

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    #1
    Hi i have a mac pro 2009 it has a graphics card of 512mb, i have tried to use a 4k philips monitor and it look terrible, If i up grade the graphics card to HD 1G do i need to change my hard drive, I have a sata 2 tb not ssd. any input would be great.

    Many Thanks

    Gary Davidson
     
  2. pb69 macrumors member

    pb69

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #2
    No need to change hard drive. What OS are you using?
     
  3. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #3
    get a EVGA GTX 680 they are easy to flash with the mac rom for boot screen good for 4k video to
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    your poll questions are err, very original.o_O
     
  5. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #5
    You've had a trouble with voting too? :D
    Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 6.24.46 PM.png
    I thought i have a bug in my OS' screen rendering.
     
  6. Gary Davidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gary Davidson

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    #6
    Hi mate I am using sierra 10.12.3
     
  7. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    id recommend grabbing a gtx 680 it's one of the simplest cards to install.
    check in system prefes to see if you have the correct resolution selected to (what rez is the display set at?)

    for a older card ideally you want to use display port to plug in to your display.

    gtx 680 can be picked up used for £50-70 will need two small 6 pin to 6 pin cable to power it
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-vide...qid=1518563327&sr=8-4&keywords=g5+power+6+pin
    like that one.

    almost anygtx 680 pc card will just work plug and play (no boot screen displayed unless you keep your old card in) and if you want most can be flashed to a mac card.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    I could be wrong, but I didn't think a GTX680 will do bootscreens for a 4K monitor even if it is flashed.
     
  9. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    @ActionableMango i was thinking about using the gt120 for boot display not a gtx680, i was not clear i meant the gt120 as the 'old card' (i assume it's a gt120 as Gary mentions 512vram).

    i think the gtx6xx are simplest cards to install (but i dont know the older ati cards so well), id recommend a newer card if not for the quirks that make them more complex to run and as no more than display out at 4K is needed?

    if it was me id look at the rx460/560 or rx 480/580 but there a tad more complex to install?
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    Oh I misunderstood your post, but I see that now. Yes you are right.
     

Share This Page

9 February 9, 2018