Changing CPU allocation to Excel 2011 for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by d4n13vt, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. d4n13vt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    #1
    I am running some hefty Excel models and the calculations take hours to complete. I notice that Excel only ever use about 100% of 1 CPU and less than 800GB of RAM.

    Since I have the MacBook Pro with 8 CPU's and 16GB of RAM, I would love to throw some more tin at the problem, but I can't seem to find any setting to change the CPU allocation in the Excel preferences like you did in the older versions of Excel.

    Any ideas on where to change the number of CPU's attacking my excel calculation problem?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    There's no way to change an application to use more then one cpu. The application needs to be written to leverage more cores. Most apps aren't multi-threaded so they only take advantage of a single core.
     
  3. d4n13vt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    #3
    Excel 2011 for Mac - multi threading

    Thanks Mike.

    So are you saying Excel 2011 for Mac is NOT written to hyper thread like its PC version?
     
  4. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #4
    MS Office for Mac is written to make you buy a PC.
     
  5. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    Yes.

    Also, you must have good contacts inside Apple, since you have an octacore MBP.
     
  6. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    You mean threaded. Hyperthreading is a completely different kettle of fish...

    ----------

    That's because there are 8 logical processors on 4 physical cores. Each core can execute two threads which OS X sees as 8 CPUs. This is what hyperthreading is.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Excel 2011 is based on old code and does not leverage the multiple cores that are available. As mentioned, its not hyper threading buy multi-threaded. Excel probably doesn't need to be multi-threaded that much as the calculations are fairly serial and cannot be easily divided up (AFAIK).
     
  8. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #8
    I don't know about the Mac side, but Excel on the PC side is both multi and hyper threading enabled. My Excel files use 4 threads (2 real, 2 hyper) when recalculating my spreadsheets. This is in Office 2007.
     

Share This Page