Changing DVD regions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ebonics, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. ebonics macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California. USA.
    #1
    What happens once you've used up all your DVD region changes?
    Is there a way to reset it?
    Or are you permanently stuck on the region?
    Will changing your disk drive fix it, or is it a software thing?

    Also more specifically, I got my Macbook Pro in America and changed in to the Australian region. I've done a few changes and only have one left. If I reformat my computer, will it change back to the America region and then not allow me to change back to Australia's DVD region?

    Sorry for the myriad of questions, thank you to anyone who can be of assistance. :)
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
  3. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Have you tried using videolan (VLC)? It should be able to bypass the region coding.
     
  4. ebonics thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California. USA.
    #4
    Yes but if I got a new disk drive would that give more changes? Or is it a software thing and changing the disk drive doesn't matter?

    If it's a software thing does reformatting the hard-drive and reinstalling MacOSX reset how many region changes you can have?

    Or is it permanent despite doing any, or both of these things?

    MY main question though is, if I reformat my hard-drive does it change back to the original DVD region and count as one of the 5 region changes?
    Please help.
     
  5. numlock macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #5
    pretty sure a reformat does not reset the the count.

    But of course if you change the drive you could get one that accepts all regions
     
  6. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    No current DVD drive is sold being multiregion. If you don't agree to comply with the region scheme, you don't get licenses to the required patents.

    It's the drive's firmware which implements the lock.
     
  7. ebonics thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California. USA.
    #7
    So is the lock absolutely permanent and there's NOTHING you can do?

    I've only got one change left, so I just want to be cautious.
     
  8. Aeolius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    #8
    You could always Handbrake the movie, removing region coding.
     
  9. ebonics thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California. USA.
    #9
    I know there's things I can do like that, but now not having a definitive answer is making me curious just to know for the sake of finding out if there's anything that can be done at all once all the region changes have been done.
     
  10. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #10
    Once you use all the changes your only option is to flash the drive's firmware to a version that has been patched for RPC1 support to make it a multiregion drive (more accurately, RPC1 drives just ignore the region coding) or replace the drive. Be warned, though, the RPC1 flash will only work IF there is a patched version of your drive's firmware. If no one has patched a copy of it you're SOL.
     
  11. ebonics thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California. USA.
  12. Let's Sekuhara! macrumors 6502

    Let's Sekuhara!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    日本
    #12
    I hate region codes. Half my DVDs are region 2 and half are region 1, so no matter what I'm always screwed. Therefor I'm HandBraking everything and getting rid of DVDs altogether.
     

Share This Page