Changing FCX Project from 24p to 23.98p?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by logicpro7, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. logicpro7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Hey,
    Any idea how to change my current project from 24p to 23.98p in FCX?

    Thanks.
     
  2. logicpro7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
  3. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #3
    spin three times to the left then twice to the right...
    then scream DROP FRAME ;)
     
  4. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #4
    Why would you want to do that? 24 FPS is smoother because it has more frames.
     
  5. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    hmm maybe the footage he shot was non-drop frame 24fps which is 23.976.

    just make a new project and drop your 23.976 (whatever you want to call it) on it and it should conform to that frame rate.

    or create a new project and copy and paste from old project to new.

    or just select the project in the project library, press command+4 for Inspector and click on the bottom wrench icon and make your change.
     
  6. logicpro7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    I was told the Canon 7D shoots 23.98 even though it says 24p? The files say 23.98 in the project which i set up at 24p, so i changed the project to match the files.
     
  7. logicpro7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
  8. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #8
    It's like 0.2p in difference, why not do it in 24p? It's not like there will be a huge difference.
     
  9. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #9
    Would this be an issue with audio sync or anything? With Magic Lantern I just use exact 24FPS (on my 550D).
     
  10. logicpro7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    I converted the original files from my 7D in MPEG Streamclip to Apple Pro Res422.

    In the screenshot above, it says the mov files are 23.98

    ----------

    Would it not effect the audio sync seeing as it is a music video?
     
  11. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Yes, you'll begin to notice a drift out of sync if the playback framerate does not match the recorded frame rate.
     

Share This Page