Changing HD icon

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Chad H, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just purchased my brand new Macbook Pro. I am ditching the iMac as I have more use for a laptop. This thing is amazing. Nimble and surely quick. I know, apple.com but its a good statement. Its the 2.4ghz w/ 200GB HD. I am fixing to install 4GB of RAM in this bad boy also. Anyway, I am having alot of trouble doing something very simple. I am wanting to change the HD icon that is displayed on the desktop. I have done it with several other macs. Now, for some weird reason when I go to get info on either the new icon or my current HD icon it wont highlight the actual icon. Does anybody know why this is? I have set all persmission in both to read and write.

    Thanks,
    Chad
     
  2. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #3
    I have on my other macs. Macbook and iMac. Anybody got any clues? :mad:
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Sounds like you are doing it properly:

    1. Option-C to copy the new icon
    2. Right click on the MBP HDD icon and choose Get Info
    3. Click on the MBP HDD icon in Get Info
    4. Option-V to paste the new icon

    The HDD is formatted for OS X Journaled, correct?
     
  5. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #5
    I have no idea. I bought the laptop itself brand new out if the box.

    No matter what I do it wont allow to me actually "click" on the icon when I go into "get info". Any ideas?
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    Oh it's very easy.

    did you make sure your allowed to edit it?

    Look down at the bottom for the padlock. Before attempting to change it, make sure the padlock is 'unlocked' then try to make the changes.
     
  7. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #7
    Yep, its the weirdest thing. It just let me click on it to highlight it.
     
  8. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #8
    You are clicking on the actual icon in the upper left corner (small) and not the larger "Preview" icon at the bottom right?
     
  9. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #9
    Hell yeah, thats what it was. Thanks guys, sorry for the brain fart!:eek:
     
  10. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #10
    No problem man, I was just playing with icons myself the other day and that's what I was doing wrong. :)
     
  11. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #11
    Man, I remember playing with all the icons and customizing the crap out of my Performa 575 back in the day. I had all sorts of icon theme packs downloaded. Also got the start up screen to play the "Hello, hello, hello, how low?" part of Smells Like Teen Spirit.
     
  12. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #12
    HAHAHA That was me but I had the 475. I just wanted to customize my HD icon, check it out, I think it turned out sweet! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  13. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #13
    Where would I get the macbook pro icon like that?
     
  14. DropKick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #14
    bump, because I'm interested in that icon as well :D
     
  15. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #16
  16. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #17
    That's because I made it in PhotoShop the other day...:cool:

    I'd upload it but mac rumors doesn't allow icon files to upload. Email me. :D
     
  17. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #18
    Done:) Sorry for hijacking this thread btw.
     
  18. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #19
  19. zotes24 macrumors regular

    zotes24

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #20
    i have the new macbook and i tried doing this to no success. I clicked on the the little one and pressed command-v and option v and nothing happened

    is used the icon from here (i wish someone could put the Leopard desktop)
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=592260

    which part do i actually copy to paste it?

    i dont know if it was like this before but when i go to the finder and click "Go" that icon is on there but not the desktop
     
  20. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

    tcphoto

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Madison, GA
    #21
    Single click on the icon that you would like to change. Scroll down the file menu in the finder and get info. Hold down "option V" and drag the new icon onto the small icon on the top left of the get info window. Drop the new icon and see it change.
     
  21. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #22
    Ask and you shall receive! :D If you like this one, just click on the .zip file in the Attached Files section at the bottom of this post for the icon file.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. 7even macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #23
    Thanks a lot! That icon is awesome.
     
  23. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

    tcphoto

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Madison, GA
    #24
    I went with the MBP image from the Apple Store gallery. I found that I needed to convert the image to a jpg, otherwise it did not work correctly.
     
  24. zotes24 macrumors regular

    zotes24

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #25
    Thanks to both of you!!! it looks NICE!
     

Share This Page