Changing icon shadow/overlay with no winterboard

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Cupra, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. Cupra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I have changed some of the standard icons fine but when i change an app store icon im left with the standard shadow PNG behind...

    Iread its built into one of the .artwork files ?

    Any help to get rid of or change this would be great ( and remember i DONT have NOR want winterboard )

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #2
    I had this issue earlier and got some help. heres my thread

    First up you need iphoneshop 3.0 - google it ;)

    You then need to amend the other.artwork file located in /System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/

    Edit the following files, making them completely transparant
    -AppIconMask.png
    -AppIconOverlay.png
    -AppIconShadow.png

    Import the PNGs back into Other.Artwork and SSH it back to your phone.

    Dont try to replace the files, it doesnt work and drove me up the wall for a week :rolleyes:

    once youve done that you will have no shaddow.
     
  3. Cupra thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Cheers, so i can make the new pngs transparent but i cant replace with custom ones?
     
  4. Cupra thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    replaced, uploaded, repsprung but no change...

    trying again, i just made them transparent...

    uplaoded new artwork, resprung, still no change ! ahh

    is it cached somehow?

    Edit again..

    Still no joy. replaced them, edited them, done everything but no change is happening atall

    maybe there are more files i need to change?
     
  5. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #5
    Ah sorry you may need to remove the spring board caches.

    I cant remember the exact path but is something like / var/applications/library/caches/

    there are some artwork cache files in there remove them then reboot and it should work.

    Ive got all the info at home but im at work at the mo :(

    edit:

    Also with the new artwork file that you have. Try exporting it again to a new empty "other" folder and make sure the files you replaced are there. Ive had an issue with replacing file and re-importing where the replaced files where not imported.
     
  6. Cupra thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    DONE !!

    works perfect cheers mate

    Those are located in /var/mobile/Library/Caches, there are 2 icon cache files there, one for the springboard icons (full size) and one for spotlight (small size).
     
  7. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #7
    Great Stuff :cool:

    Knew the path was something like that, just couldnt remember all of it.:rolleyes:
     
  8. Cupra thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Nice one :) now to tweak some font sizes without winterboard ! :eek:
     
  9. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #9
    Hey Cupra, I'm starting to do something similar (WinterBoard-less modding).

    I want a six-icon Dock so need to shrink the icons somewhat so they don't overlap and look bunched. Can you tell me where to find the stock icons for Phone, Mail, iPod, Camera, Safari and Messages and what program you used to edit them with?
     
  10. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    /Applications/MobileMail.app
    /Applications/MobileSafari.app
    /Applications/MobileMusicPlayer.app (multiple icons in here for iPod, Music or Video)
    /Applications/MobileSMS.app
    /Applications/MobileSlideshow.app (look for icon-camera.png)
     
  11. Cupra thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    as the man above says, the problem is that once you get the Icon.png file out from the phone you cant actually view it, just replace it and its job done
     
  12. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #12
    Shrinking the icons wont allow you to make a 5 icon dock.

    You will still need to have mobile substrate installed with 5 icon dock.

    You can be winterboardless tho as i am :cool:
     
  13. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    I think he wants to shrink them so they fit better.
     
  14. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #14
    Yep that's correct ViViD, I have 6 icon dock installed and they now fit much better after changing them for smaller icons. Thanks everyone :)
     

Share This Page