iPhone Changing icons the WB way

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Nsomnia34, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. Nsomnia34 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #1
    Can someone tell me a step by step way of changing icons on my i5 on 7.04? I knew there was a way before with putting them in a folder in WB but I cant remember how to do it nor if it works with ios 7. Its a pain to go into every app and change them that way especially when Im going between 3 different themes. Thanks for your help.
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    You would need the CFBundle name and the app icon name and such

    I'd suggest installing a theme, browse to /var/mobile/stash/themes.xxx and analyze the theme layout and learn from that
     
  3. MastahRiz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #3
    IconBundles is what you're referring to I think...
     
  4. white4s macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    i believe iconbundles is included with winterboard
     
  5. Nsomnia34, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014

    Nsomnia34 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #5
    Sorry Im still a bit rusty since I lost my ios 6 jb MONTHS ago. I create a folder in themes named the theme I want to use. Inside the folder I put the CFBundle name and the icon name?
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    The folder is the CFBundle name and inside the folder is the icon name image

    As I said, I think it would be easier if you installed a theme and took a look at the file structure of it and learn from it

    Saves you the trouble of looking for the CFBundle name too (kind of)
     
  7. dmick89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #7
    I did this yesterday actually. I wanted to replace a few of the ayecon icons. I used dmick89 as theme name and inside the Bundles folder I copied some folders from Ayecon and replaced the images. I set it with highest priority on WB and after respringing the icon was there, but it was on top of the Ayecon icon. Why did this happen?
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    could you rephrase your information? I'm having a bit of trouble following your problem
     
  9. dmick89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #9
    Sorry about that. I created a folder in the Themes folder called dmick89. Inside that I put the Bundles folder and in there I pasted the phone folder I copied from the Ayecon theme. I replaced the images with the ones I wanted to use. Then I set dmick89 as the theme with the highest priority. After respring the new icon showed up, but the Ayecon phone icon was still visible. It was underneath my new icon.

    Is that better?
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    yes, that makes sense now

    it's because the icon you were using is smaller than what the app icon should be so then the ayecon one showed up in the background

    one way to work around that would be inthe ayecon theme folder, change the CFBundle name

    for example, let's say it was

    com.saurik.cydia

    change to something like
    com.saurik.cydia_
     
  11. dmick89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #11
    I thought of that, but wouldn't that folder be overwritten if or when Ayecon is updated?
     
  12. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #12
    no, it won't be overwritten

    what made you think the folder would be overwritten?
     
  13. dmick89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #13
    I guess I'm not sure. Wrong information. Thanks a lot for the help here.
     
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    Oh, misread your question a bit

    The folder you renamed won't be overwritten but a new folder will be made

    Let's say you renamed to com.saurik.cydia_

    When you update ayecon, you'll have both a com.saurik.cydia and com.saurik.cydia_
     
  15. charlestx macrumors regular

    charlestx

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    Is it possible to make the calendar icon bigger than all other icons through iFile? Is so can you explain how and where I could do it please.
     
  16. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #16
    what do you mean by make it bigger?
     
  17. charlestx macrumors regular

    charlestx

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    I want to resize the icon so that it stands out, as it is in the middle of the five icon dock. I am using Springtomize 3 with coverflow. I was hoping to do it manually then I do not need to wait for the tweak Cascade.
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    I don't think there's a manual way to change the icon mask of only one icon but not the rest

    Even manually can't be done since the icon mask is located in the .artwork file
     
  19. charlestx macrumors regular

    charlestx

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    Thanks for the info. Now I know.
     

Share This Page