changing ip?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cristian, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. Cristian macrumors 6502

    Cristian

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #1
    Is there any way to change my ip or reset it so it can be something diffrent through terminal or anything else?
     
  2. IBobby macrumors regular

    IBobby

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Show Low, AZ
    #2
    Are you going through a router? If so you can assign yourself a static ip address, but if you are directly connected to your dsl/cable modem then no you are on a lease and calling them and asking your isp will not change it due to. many reasons, Bittorrent downloads, MP3 downloads and bandwith usages.
     
  3. Cristian thread starter macrumors 6502

    Cristian

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    in terminal:

    sudo ifconfig en1 inet 192.168.0.1
     
  5. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #5
    Assuming you want to change your LAN IP.
     
  6. Cristian thread starter macrumors 6502

    Cristian

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #6
    i just want to change my regular ip that gets me internet lol i dont know much about this
     
  7. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #7
    Yeah, that's what I though. You can't.
    You could use a proxy though (like this one).

    And, umm... It isn't my business but, why do you want to change your IP?
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    I don't think she/he wants to change LAN IP. That doesn't make any sense... you don't need a new LAN IP very often.

    99% of the time, the easiest way to change your WAN (external) IP is to unplug the cable modem or DSL modem from the power supply and wait a few minutes, then plug it back in. Chances are, it will usually come back with a different IP than it used to have. After it's done rebooting, you can use....

    http://whatismyip.com/

    To check and see if you have a new IP.
     
  9. Cristian thread starter macrumors 6502

    Cristian

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #9
    Well Megaupload only allows 1 download for a few hours and I dont want to wait.
     

Share This Page