Changing Leopard Login Screen Background?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by FJ218700, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #1
    Does anyone know/remember how to change the background image of the login screen without a 3rd party application.

    I know I've seen a thread about this in the past for Tiger or Panther couldn't find it just now. Please link me if applicable.

    thanks

    FJ
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Change /System/Library/CoreServices/DefaultDesktop.jpg to whatever you want, just make sure you name it correctly.
     
  4. FJ218700 thread starter macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
  5. cavebob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5
    i've done that and but for some reason my image wont load. any ideas?
     
  6. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #6
    Same here. I just get a solid blue background.
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    Did you give it the exactly the same name and format.
     
  8. jrennell macrumors newbie

    jrennell

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #8
    Default Background change does work (for me at least)

    I can confirm that changing the DefaultDesktop.jpg in /System/Library/CoreServices/ does indeed work, I replaced it with the Tiger Aqua background this weekend. I recommend keeping the original in there and renaming it to DefaultDesktop.Leopard.jpg or something like that to revert to.

    The specifics of the image (Tiger and Leopard defaults) are:
    Resolution: 2560x1600 pixels
    DPI: 72pixels/inch
    Color model: RGB

    Try conforming your jpeg file to those settings (the resolution is probably unimportant). A restart cannot hurt either if the setting does not kick in immediately.
     
  9. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    I changed the name to DefualtDesktop.jpg (yes it's a jpg originially). I have yet to try a restart though and instead did a log out. Maybe that's the problem.

    [edit]Restarting didn't work.
     
  10. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #10
    Try spelling it correctly...Default
     
  11. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #11
    Hahaha. :eek: I did spell the file name correctly though.
     
  12. cavebob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #12
    I worked it out for mine. You need to have 'Locked' ticked in file info under general. for good measure i changed the permissions to read&write for all
     
  13. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #13
    Mine failed to work, until I loaded in a picture with my default resolution.

    For my 24" imac, it was 1920 x 1200, and the picture finally worked.
    FYI, the first time I loaded the pic into the correct folder, upon restart I had a blue background, and when I got back into finder, the picture somehow found it's way into my applications folder. Moved it a 2nd time, and it stayed put.


    Just need to fix stacks / spotlight / front row / icons and my dock now. :apple:
     
  14. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #14
    Use terminal

     
  15. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #15
  16. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006

Share This Page