Changing Leopards Log-in Aurora Background.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mingisback, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. mingisback macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I'm not a big fan of the default Aurora image used behind the login on Leopard. In the past to swap out this image I believe you'd just replace the image with one of your choice. (Aqua in Tiger and Aurora in Leopard)

    This doesn't seem to work in Leopard.

    Anyone know how to successfully swap out Aurora?

    ps.

    I wanna use the much cooler Leopard Server Aurora Image in it's place.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/oskarkrawczyk/1603883480/
     
  2. mingisback thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    United States
  3. MarkPN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    Try moving/replacing:

    /System/Library/CoreServices/DefaultDesktop.jpg
     
  4. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #4
    Navigate to HD/System/Library/CoreServices
    and replace the file called "DefaultDesktop.jpg" with the picture you want.

    Easy Button.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    This is one of the first things i did because it is too much of a jar going from auroa to my background.
     
  6. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #6
    didn't work. it tells me i dont have the privileges, even though i'm admin and even though i tried to put read&write on all users. what was really strange is that i couldn't add my account name to the list.

    and moving/ replacing didn't work.

    any tips?
     
  7. Mac OS X Ocelot macrumors 6502a

    Mac OS X Ocelot

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #7
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    select the file and then drag it to the desktop, it'll copy it for backup purposes. Then select the file and delete it, it'll pop up saying you need to authenticate press the button and enter your admin username and password. Then copy the file in and again enter username and password.
     
  9. mingisback thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    Excellent... Thanks man. :)

    -Just ask, and you shall receive...
     

Share This Page