Changing Partition Size w/o erasing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdaniel, May 29, 2011.

  1. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    Just wanted to check is there is an easy way to change my partition size...

    I have one at close to 100 and another at around 150, I want to reduce the first one to 50GB which is easy to do, but then it seems I cannot simply increase the next one, wouldnt allow me to do it. I also do not have a simple slider I can slide up and down.

    Anyone?

    THANKS
     
  2. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  3. mmmhshiney, May 30, 2011
    Last edited: May 30, 2011

    mmmhshiney macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #3
    Sounds like you need to copy the files from the 2nd partition and then delete it. That way you should be able to create a new one with the right size and put your files back
     
  4. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #4
    There are tools out there that will let you do this, but it is always risky when messing with partitions....
     
  5. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #5
    gparted has a livecd you can boot from that will do this. Its not the simplest thing to use but the price is right: Free!
     
  6. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #6
    tried it doesnt work :( it will decrease size then u have that free space u cant then increase the size of ur other partition
     
  7. RolandVet macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #7
    To increase the size of the second partition, move it to the end of the first partition, and then enlarge it.
     
  8. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #8
    Ya, try the tip he posted. gparted will do pretty much anything.
     
  9. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #9
    u mean on the main screen? it wont work it wont move.....

    I even have trouble doing it with ipartition... *sigh*
     
  10. RolandVet macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #10
    Did you defrag before attempting the resizes?

    Is the empty space assigned to anything? A empty partition or anything? It needs to be unassigned, empty, nada. Can you give us a shot of your current partition setup?
     
  11. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #11
    when i use ipartition i can only use it from a boot up disk of course if not... its basically useless. same thing with idefrag....

    when i use i partition I get a error message new block count is too small to etc etc etc...

    i have no idea why that is.. I am trying to reduce the size of one partition to 40GB.. and increase the other one... i even tried doing it as 2 separate tasks but it wont work..

    I dont have a shot right now I am not gonna bother anymore haha I am going to just backup what I can and re-do this crap from scratch.
     
  12. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #12
    ok so in the end I ended up reformating and reinstalling..

    I had previously thought my small back up HDD could not fit everything so what I did was I worked with the 2 partitions I had... sorta screwed up when I tried to move my home folder back to macintosh hd, i couldnt log back into my account because of filevault. so if anyone wants to do this make sure u disable filevault..

    anyways i cleared off one partition... and then I installed mac on it.. then once thats set up.. I could access my screwed up partition move what I had in there that I needed out... then use ipartition to increase the partition size to full..but I discovered it doesnt work well.... the number will not match up say I have a 250gb hdd.. so u expect to have a bit less.. but i have 600-700mb floating around according to disk utility... so its not missing its there u can see it.. but when u add that to the number it says on my hdd its more than 250.. so doesnt make any sense

    so after that i just reformated and reinstalled
     

Share This Page