Changing phone region for News app

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by lagwagon, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. lagwagon, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015

    lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #1
    I'm in Canada and obviously have no access to the new News app because it's US only right now. But I would like to try it out for at least a bit. (Changing region to US allows the phone to see the app)

    My question is (and might be a dumb one.) Does changing the phones region have any negative effects? I've never changed off Canada before.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ryankidd17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #2
    Nope. No negative effects.
     
  3. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    It will affect Spotlight Suggestions, Proactive results, your default currency and of course Apple Pay as well. But you can always change it again.
     
  4. lagwagon thread starter Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    Ok thanks. I don't care if spotlight, proactive and currency is temporary different while I try out the News app. No Apple Pay in Canada until this fall, so not too worried about that either.
     
  5. ender78 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    #5
    I was going nuts trying to figure out why I could not see it. I don't get why the app would be restricted to US only. When you say region change do you mean App Store region change or something else.
     
  6. lagwagon thread starter Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #6
    Settings > General > Language & Region > Region

    Is where to change it. It changes. Then reboot (home + power)
     

Share This Page