Changing processor in 24" Aluminum iMac.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zackkmac, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. zackkmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #1
    This question might be a little stupid since I'm only 15 and not the most technical kid around...I recieved 2 new Dell XPS computers [410 and 420], and since I will be primarily using my iMac, I want to swap their processors. The 420 has a Core2Quad 2.4GHz, will that work in my iMac [or is it a different socket]? The 410 has 2.8GHz Core 2 Duo. Which would be better, or at least compatible?

    Also, anyone know if disassembly is the same as the white iMacs? If so I believe I could do it, and I'm willing to go for it :eek:

    Thanks:apple:
     
  2. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
  3. beerijuana macrumors newbie

    beerijuana

    #3
    Hmmmm....

    No, it isn't soldered on, it's in a ZIF socket.

    From everymac.com:

    See-

    http://www.kodawarisan.com/imac_2007_mid/imac_2007_mid_01.html
     
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #4
    Yes, indeed, not soldered on but still a notebook processor so the desktop CPUs in the OP's Dell XPS 410 and 420 would not be of any use even if he went to the extreme trouble of disassembling the machine.

    However, CPU upgrades are possible.
     
  5. beerijuana macrumors newbie

    beerijuana

    #5
    ...and fun.

    I'd wait 'til the warranty was up though.

    About 8 years ago, I made a G3 Frankenmac out of an LC 580.:eek:
     
  6. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #6
    So wait...

    I can upgrade my processor?

    That is insane!

    Has anyone ever done it? I'm aware it's a risk to open up my iMac and do such a procedure, but I wouldn't mind doing anything to it once my warranty is over.

    Are mobile processor even easy to obtain?


    EDIT: I found this thread on Macrumors about a member who successfully upgraded his processor http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=221112&page=3
    This is getting interesting, I really want to do this as soon as my warranty expires
     
  7. zackkmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    If you do it make a guide and tell us how it goes! I really want to search around for the best processor I can exchange my current one with. Looks like the procedure's a pain though.
     
  8. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #8
    I already posted a link to a detailed guide for the procedure above.

    Here it is again: iMac Processor Upgrade
     
  9. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #9
    I think im horribly blind, because I see nothing on how to upgrade the processors on that site :|
     
  10. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #10
    How did you get two XPS machines for free? And what do you need them for at the age of 15?

    *JEALOUS*

    Also, I wouldn't recommend you doing because it sounds like you aren't quite ready for it skill wise and you might just destroy your iMac.
     
  11. zackkmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #11
    I didn't get them for free, I don't remember saying that. My parents bought them for me but they paid Dell. :confused:
    I wanted one to play WoW on [my friend's begging me], and the other to do small home-movie editing with software that my iMac can't use.
    Also, I wasn't going to do it [alone], I have a neighbor that does things like this for a living.

    SaSaSushi: Sorry I missed your post earlier, and I wasn't really asking for a guide from airjuggernaut that I'm going to wait on and go from there, just thought it'd be a cool idea to make one. :eek:
     
  12. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #12
    Ya, but your parents gave them to you right? Also, you can run windows on the iMac, and play WoW on it too. Pretty much you have 3 computers to do what your iMac could have done.
     
  13. Metuas macrumors regular

    Metuas

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Under a rock.
    #13
    The iMac is technically upgradeable, but the iMac also has one of the most powerful notebook processors available anyway - the 3.06GHz C2D. Now, a 20" 3.06 would be insane...

    DO WANT.
     
  14. zackkmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #14
    Yep. And I'm aware of that, which I did try to put Windows on it. Oddly enough it wouldn't recognize my Vista Ultimate disc or any of our XP discs when BootCamp asked for them, and we have both 64 and 32-bit editions. iMovie is great for editing, but there are some things my editing software has that iMovie doesn't, so it's nice to be able to use that on a different computer without crowding my iMac's HD. Plus that software is for Windows only, which like I said wouldn't work on my iMac [I don't even want Vista/XP on my iMac].
     
  15. tri3limited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #15
    What editing software do you use then? Adobe Premiere and Avid are both Mac compatible... So that mush mean you use either Vegas, Pinnacle or Ulead by my reckoning.

    If iMovie won't do it for you look to use Final Cut Express or even the Pro version if you can afford that. Its used far more widely in the industry than many of the others (except Avid), so if you enjoy it and wish to maybe earn money from it one day it's well worth give Final Cut a go!

    I forgot to say, with regards to disk space definitely get a Firewire 800 External HDD for video. Saves you clogging up the insides!
     
  16. zackkmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #16
    I use Vegas. I thought Final Cut may be too advanced for me to use, but since I've never seen it anywhere [no Apple store nearby], I have no idea. I will definitely go to the Apple site for it and consider it though, thanks :D
     
  17. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #17
    I see now that the guide I linked to is actually for replacing the HD. But it shows you how to get to the CPU and then its just a matter of removing it from the socket and replacing it. Replacing the CPU is the easy part. What is difficult in working with the new iMacs is the disassembly and reassembly of the case.

    I had a link to a similar guide specifically for the CPU but I can't find it now. I will post it here if I do. ;)
     

Share This Page