Changing Processors???????

Discussion in 'iMac' started by shoobridge, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. shoobridge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Australia, Kalaru
    #1
    Hi All,

    Quick one for you all, I have an Imac G5 20inch Powerpc, I want to update it to work with current internet features and seem to be at a stand still because it is not intel. Is it possible to update it so it can be an intel? I also want to update it to OS 10.6.8 it is currently OS 10.5

    Cheers
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. OliverOSX93 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Location:
    Accrington
    #3
    Unfortunately ppc and intel use different sockets. (they could also be soldered in there). It's a round peg in a square hole situation, the intel CPU won't fit.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Not to mention all the other components, RAM, chipset, etc are not compatible either.

    You'd have to change every internal component.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    As others mention, you have to completely gut the insides, and unless you are enamored of the old design, just buy a new iMac.
     
  6. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6

    Heh!

    I like the older design better than the current one. More easily user serviceable.

    I wish the new one was on the same design line.

    I liken changing the hard drive on the new ones to removing a persons tonsils through an opening other than the throat! :eek: :D
     

Share This Page