Changing root - mobile terminal quits, computer can't do it either

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Nrwrit3r, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Nrwrit3r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    Edit: If you download the rock app and launch it, it lets you change your root pass :)
     
  2. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #2
    Yes the current MobileTerminal on Cydia doesn't work with iOS4 yet...

    I managed to do it from my OSX Terminal however...
    I am NOT on my Uni's wifi network but I'm on my own network at home. Maybe you should do it from your own router or setup an adhoc network from your computer that your iphone connects to.... (or as you mentioned, with MyWi)



    Just FYI for other people who is reading the thread and wondering how to do this from your computer

    SSH into the phone

    login password: alpine


    Then type in the following command...
    type new password twice
     
  3. Lansing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #3
    Also, don't forget to su into the mobile user and change it's password as well. (su - mobile when your in as root)
     
  4. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    Edit: never mind I changed it ;)
     
  5. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #5
    I'm getting the following error on terminal, when I have mywi on (I'm on it right now using the IP)

    ssh: Could not resolve hostname root: nodename nor servname provided, or not known
     
  6. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #6
    What I did on Windows to change my root and mobile password.

    1) In Cydia, install OpenSSH. Respring phone.
    2) Google for PuTTY and install onto your computer.
    3) Startup PuTTY. On main page, type in your IP address. Make sure "SSH" is dotted then click "Open."
    4) If this is your first time, a window will appear saying something about saving authentication key. Just click on yes.
    5) When you get to the screen that says "Login as:" type in: Root. Password: alpine.
    6) Now, it should say your iphone name. Type in: passwd. Enter new password and repeat. Once done, just exit PuTTY.
    7) Repeat step #3. This time "Login as:" Type: mobile. Follow rest of instructions.
    8) If you don't want OpenSSH, go back into Cydia and remove it. Respring the phone.
     
  7. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #7
    Is there a program like putty I can use for the mac?

    I don't get why I can't connect to my phone :(
     
  8. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #8
    Anyone have a suggestion? Is there a "wired" way I can do this on computer?
     
  9. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #9
    Do you have a router that you can use?

    Or maybe create ad hoc connection between your Computer and the iPhone
     
  10. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #10
    I downloaded "iphone explorer" and now see a folder labeled "Root".

    Inside of it are folders labeled such as:

    Applications
    bin
    boot
    cores
    dev
    Developer
    etc
    lib
    Library
    mnt
    private
    sbin
    System
    tmp
    User
    usr
    var


    And some files such as

    .file
    .rockapp.consisten...
    .gsc.720p

    Ect.


    Any way I can change the root with this?
     
  11. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #11
    I tried "creating a network" on my mac and it didn't work.
     
  12. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
  13. Benji222 macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #13
    You rock.
     
  14. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #14
    Looks like the OP fixed the issue but I'd like to contribute to this thread also.

    Found this on YouTube. Try installing iSSH from iTunes and OpenSSH from Cydia. Both together gives you the iP4 version of Mobile Terminal.

    Works like a charm!!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoWkPo3p13A
     
  15. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #15
    yeah there's an updated version of mobile terminal on google code hosting, you have to install it manually though.
     

Share This Page