iPad Changing Root Password on iPad?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by scirica, May 4, 2010.

  1. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    I ran Spirit today on my newborn iPad. Easiest, fastest jailbreak yet!

    I installed openSSH and it works great, but my question is how do I change the root password if mobile terminal isn't yet working on the iPad? Can you use the command line within WINSCP to make this change?

    Any other ways?

    Thanks!
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    SSH to the iPad from your computer and change it that way.
     
  3. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Yea, you can do it over SSH just fine. Musclenerd suggested that you can even get terminal access to your iPad using an SSH app from the app store and logging into 'localhost' with root or mobile as the user names. It'll basically be the same thing as MobileTerminal except you gotta log in.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    OP, just SSH into the iPad using Cyber Duck (or whatever app that does the same thing). root is the username. alpine is the password.
     
  5. scirica thread starter macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Thanks. I'm on a pc using winscp and it doesn't seem to like that. I'll keep looking for a pc client that will do the trick!
     
  6. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Putty is good. I always use that on a PC. Also, as I mentioned, you can do it using an iPad based SSH client too.
     
  7. scirica thread starter macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    I downloaded that iSSH client. Just need to figure it out. I'll try putty!

    Update: Thanks Vivid!! PuTTY was perfect and much quicker. I forgot I even had it here on my client.

    Cheers!!
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    since we have a happy ending, what do you suggest for SSHing via USB into the iPhone/iPad?
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I had a post for that a while back. I'll like to it but it's iTunnel and Putty.

    Link coming in an edit soon. :)

    Here you go!

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=805692

    I posted the files and some instructions.
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    You can't use CyberDuck can you? I saw stuff about iPhoneTunnel, but haven't looked at it.

    Edit: Looked at the link and I saw stuff about itunnel being replaced when I searched for iTunnel by usbmuxd. Is this true?
     
  11. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Not sure... I haven't used it since October actually. If it works with Putty it should also work with CyberDuck though.
     
  12. scirica thread starter macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #12
    Also got the iSSH (app store) program to work on the iPad as mobile terminal. This is fun!!
     
  13. pjbell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    hmmm...

    i tried that using issh and touchterm - no joy, "connection refused". i used "root" & "alpine".. any ideas?
    i once heard that apple approved apps would not allow a login to the underlying OS - bummer, if true...

    -paul


     
  14. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    You have to be jailbroken first and you need to install OpenSSH.
     

Share This Page