Changing SSD in iMac with preconfiged HDD and SSD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mortenfjord, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. mortenfjord macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
    #1
    Hello

    I have seen a lot of guides on how to change/add a hdd/ssd in the iMac. And despite of good guides i'm a bit intimidated of the process, so my question is:

    If I buy an iMac with preconfigured HDD and SSD, will it then be easier to swap the SSD for a faster (say Intel 510), than if I just bought a standard iMac with a HDD and then added an SSD? Would I then have to peal out the login board and everything as in this guide: http://www.twam.info/hardware/apple/installing-additional-ssd-in-mid-2010-27-imac ? Or is it then easier?

    I will be greatfull for your insight!

    -Morten
     
  2. Legion93 macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #2
    You don't need additional equipment such as an optibay, get a standard iMac and replace it's HDD with an SSD, there's tonnes of videos on YouTube explaining the process.
     
  3. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    If you want a SSD and need an extra HDD, just buy a Mac with only an HDD, replace it for a SSD and attach an external HDD using Firewire800.

    Cheapest and fastest SSD and HDD combination you can get!
     
  4. mortenfjord thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
    #4
    Thanks for your reply!

    My goal is to have both a HDD for data and a SSD for system.
    Is there an optibay for iMac? Link?

    If I do the FireWire 800 solution, won't it then slow down the HDD ?
     

Share This Page