Changing SSD - Need some help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by grapii, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. grapii macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #1
    Hi All,

    I'm relatively new to the Mac world, and last year purchased the 17" MBP. I upgraded the internal HDD with an Intel X-25 160GB.

    unfortunately space is running out on this little drive, so was looking to replace it with the Intel 320 300GB drive.

    I regularly backup the machine using Time Machine.

    Question, how do I setup this new drive?
    For example, on windows I would always format and re-install, just because windows is more flaky. Even if I'm upgrading OS's, I started clean. Is OS X better than this?

    1. install OS X from scratch and then install all the apps/files manually? where does time machine come into this scenario?
    2. is there a smarter way in OS X that I don't know of, is there cloning options or something.

    I would be grateful if someone could provide me with step by step instructions on the best way to swap the SSD's with minimal effort, but with a robust and clean HD, don't like unnecessary clutter on my HD..


    Thanks
    :apple:
     
  2. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    You could use either Super Duper! or Carbon Copy Cloner to make a 1:1 clone of your current disc and then just swap them. You could go with the whole rebuilding your system route but then unless you really want to/have all the time in the world to I'd suggest just cloning your drive. The only caveat is that these tools won't copy over any bootcamp partitions. I can't remember which app allowed you to do that though.
     
  3. grapii thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #3
    Great thanks, are there any drawbacks from using these tools vs clean install??
     
  4. random47 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    If your computer is running great now, then go with the cloning option.
    If not make a fresh install.
     
  5. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    What he said :) If you have no problems with your current setup then I'd just clone them.
     
  6. grapii thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #6
    Thanks guys. Machine is running sweet, so will go for the clone option.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page