Changing the default screenshot location

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Savage, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. Savage macrumors 6502

    Savage

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    I used to have it so that whenever I take a screenshot it would go to a folder of my choice. But I have recently put a new hard drive in my MacBook and thus have a new Leopard install and do not remember how I originally set this up because it was such a long time ago.

    Does anyone know what Terminal command or something that will let me make my screenshots go to something like User/Tyler/Pictures/Screenshots?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    To change default format for screencap images, in Terminal.app, type:
    defaults write com.apple.screencapture type png (or whatever format you want)​
    To change default folder for screencap images, in Terminal.app, type:
    defaults write com.apple.screencapture location "/Users/username/folder" (or whatever path you want)​
     
  3. TShirtJohn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #3
    I tried this but it doesn't seem to work for me,

    I typed in the following

    TGTSDesign:~ tshirtjohn$ defaults write com.apple.screencapture location "/Users/tshirtjohn/Desktop/Screenshots"

    No error or anything, i just dropped to a new line :confused:

    Quit then did CMD+Shift+4 and it put it onto the desktop rather than the folder that was created for them :confused:


    Am i missing anything?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Had you already created the folder named "Screenshots" on your Desktop?
     
  5. TShirtJohn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Did you restart your computer after you entered the Terminal command? If so, I would do it again.
     
  7. coops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #7
    You could use one of the free tweak apps - less geek points for not having to use the Terminal, but they'll do this screenshot tweak for you amongst many others..

    I use tinkertol, but mac360.com had another free one reviewed, it's here
    http://www.itweax.net/


    Easy.
     

Share This Page