Changing the IP Address on Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sammyman, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #1
    I am trying my best to change the IP Address on Airport Extreme with no luck. I go to Cofigure IP4 : manually, then go to IP Address : and move this number up and down, but it just shuts down the internet. Is there any way to change this IP Address manually?
     
  2. heppy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #2
    you need to make the change in the DHCP settings and change it from auto to manual....that should work
     
  3. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #3
    I did just that and changed the DHCP settings from auto to manual.... but when I type in a new ip address, my computer wont connect to the internet at all!
     
  4. mrfaize macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #4
    Are the new IP addresses on the AEBS and Mac in the same range?


    If you disable DHCP on the AEBS and change to for example 192.168.1.1 then the Mac should be changed to something similar to 192.168.1.x
    e.g. 192.168.1.2

    Sub net has to be the same on both too.
     
  5. iFizz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Third planet from the star called "Sun"
    #5
    OK, let's back up. Are you trying to change your router's IP address as seen on the internet? Because that IP address is assigned to you by your ISP and in most cases shouldn't be messed with. For a cable modem setup, just unplug the router and cable modem for a bit and then plug them back in. You should get a slightly different IP address. That address is called a public address.

    Now, the private address that your laptop, iPhone, iMac, etc all see when they try to connect to the router...that's a private IP address and can be modified in accordance with the below table (from wikipedia). Your router should be the IP address at the start of the range.

    IANA Reserved Private Network Ranges
    Class Start of range End of range
    The 24-bit Block A 10.0.0.0 10.255.255.255
    The 20-bit Block B 172.16.0.0 172.31.255.255
    The 16-bit Block C 192.168.0.0 192.168.255.255
     
  6. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #6
    Yes I am trying to change the routers IP address as seen on the internet. The interesting thing is that I have a different IP address when I plug my computer directly into the modem. If I don't bypass the router, I can't seem to find a way to change the IP address. Turning it off for a day or two does not work and I have cable internet. It has been the same for four months now.
     
  7. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #7
    Cable internet typically binds an IP address to a specific MAC address. So unless you clone a different MAC address, or call your ISP, then you are pretty much stuck with it.
     
  8. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #8
    How do you clone a different MAC address?
     

Share This Page