Changing the "iPod" in the top left corner

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by Garbag3man117, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. Garbag3man117 macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #1
    I am trying to change the "iPod" in the top left of the screen. I know about the program "MakeItMine" on Cydia but that doesn't work for iOS 4.2.1 for some reason. I just want to change the text I don't want to add a picture. If anyone can help that would be great.
     
  2. fus1on macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #2
    Search on cydia for an app called Fake Operator.
     
  3. barny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, England
    #3
    I tried everything to get it to change on 4.2.1 but still havnt found anything. Surely there is some way??!
     
  4. Garbag3man117 thread starter macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #4
    No Luck :(

    I've try'd Fake Operator and it didn't work. Any other ideas? I'm searching for a SpringBoard plist that might contain the string but haven't had any luck yet.
     
  5. lanulos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #5
    Did you try iName? It's supposed to be for 4.2+ only.
     
  6. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
  7. Disposition macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #7
    What file? Location?
     
  8. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #8
    i believe /system/library/CoreServices/Springboard.app/N81AP.plist

    make sure its N81AP, not N18AP. look for the device name string.
     
  9. Garbag3man117 thread starter macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Dude you are the best! iName worked! Tysm!
     
  10. cobaltrich27 macrumors 6502

    cobaltrich27

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    D/FW TX
    #10
    Thanks!!!

    Thanks I have something similar on my iPhone 3/4 forgot all about this feature.

    iName working great on my iPT2GMB 4.2.1.
     
  11. Disposition macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I checked that file and I can't find any device name strings. I'm using a 4g 32GB btw.

    I've tried looking around and can't find what file to edit. :confused:
     

Share This Page